Find Books
Enter your search:
Recommended Library Databases
These databases include scholarly secondary sources, as well as non-scholarly types of sources. So pay careful attention to source labels and use source type filters to limit your results to your desired source type.
- JumpStart This link opens in a new window Search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals, popular periodicals, reports, books, and other information resources on a wide variety of subjects. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.
- SocIndex with Full-Text This link opens in a new window Access sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Explore essential topics related to criminal justice and criminology, including forensic sciences, corrections and policing. This collection includes international journals. Coverage: early 1900s to present. Full text.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Explore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
Voices of the Incarcerated
- American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window Access a growing digital archive of newspapers published in prisons by incarcerated individuals. When complete, this collection will bring together periodicals from across the country, representing penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Coverage: 1800-2020, contains primary sources. Full text.
This link opens in a new window
Add Links to relevant Oral History Projects
Voices of Detained Immigrants
Activist Organizations
- Critical ResistanceThrough strong coalitions and strategic grassroots campaigns, we fight to dismantle the prison industrial complex
- Decarcerate PAA grassroots campaign working to end mass incarceration in Pennsylvania.
- No More Deaths • No Más MuertesA humanitarian organization and an official ministry of the Unitarian Universalist Church of Tucson, AZ. The mission is to end death and suffering in the Mexico–US borderlands through civil initiative
- Survived and PunishedS&P organizes to de-criminalize efforts to survive domestic and sexual violence, support and free criminalized survivors, and abolish gender violence, policing, prisons, and deportations.
Newspapers and Magazines
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window Access citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
- Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window Access news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Access national and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS. Includes articles from the Carlisle, PA Sentinel. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Full text.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Access historical articles and images from the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger; American Israelite; Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; Baltimore Afro-American; Boston Globe; Chicago Defender; Chicago Tribune; Chinese Newspapers Collection; Guardian & Observer; Jewish Advocate; Jewish Exponent; Los Angeles Times; New York Amsterdam News; New York Times; Philadelphia Inquirer; Philadelphia Tribune; Pittsburgh Courier; Pittsburgh Post-Gazette; Wall Street Journal; and Washington Post. Coverage: varies by paper ranging from 1791-2018, contains primary sources. Full text.
- New York Times -- Current Online Access This link opens in a new window Register for a Group Pass to access current issues of New York Times online. See https://libguides.dickinson.edu/specialaccess/nytimes for instructions. Coverage: 1996-present, some historical content. Full text.
- Wall Street Journal -- Current Online Access This link opens in a new window All Dickinson users must register via this Dickinson-specific link the first time they use this WSJ.com subscription access. Users may be asked to refresh their access annually. See our special access instructions. Access current Wall Street Journal online articles. Coverage: current - at least 4 years ago to present. Full text.
- Washington Post -- Current Online Access This link opens in a new window Off-campus users must use links from the library website and log in with Dickinson credentials to access this subscription. See our special access instructions. Access current issues of the Washington Post online. Coverage: 2005 to present. Full text.
- EBSCO Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Access the magazine archives of Architectural Digest, The Atlantic, Bloomberg BusinessWeek, Ebony, Esquire, Forbes, Fortune, Jet, Life, Maclean's, People, Sports Illustrated, Time, U.S. News & World Report and Vanity Fair. Coverage: 1857-2015 (varies by title), contains primary sources. Full text. The Ebony archive and Jet archive are, in part, gifts of the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
- Google Magazines This link opens in a new window Access freely available issues of miscellaneous popular magazines. Coverage: varies by title, contains primary sources. Full text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window Access magazines, journals, and newspapers of alternative press archives. Collections include Black American, Campus Underground, Feminist, GI Press, LGBT, Latino, Little (literary) Magazine, Native American and Right-Wing publications. Coverage: second half of 20th century, contains primary sources. Full text.
- This link opens in a new window