Concept Mapping
MLA Citations
- Dickinson's MLA GuideProvides examples of MLA citations, as well as links to other useful MLA citation resources.
- Excelsior College OWLMLA Style guide from Excelsior College's Online Writing Lab
Accessing Library Materials - Spring 2021
Information for Students Living Off Campus
- Use links from the library website to access library databases and materials like books and journal articles. Always log in for full access.
- If you use Google Scholar, be sure to set up a connection to Dickinson's library for seamless access to full-text content available to you.
- If an article or book chapter you need is not available online via the Dickinson library, you may request a copy through the ILLiad service. This includes items that are available in print in the library's collection.
- Contact your WGSS liaison librarian if you need help accessing materials for your research.
Information for Students Living On Campus
- The library is open to authorized students. See our library services updates for information about library building access and hours.
- Contact-free pick-up is available for most library materials.
- If an article or book chapter you need is not available via the Dickinson library, you may request a copy through the ILLiad service.
- Contact your WGSS liaison librarian if you need help accessing materials for your research.
Finding Sources
Search Relevant Databases
- JumpStart This link opens in a new window Search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new window Search for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
- Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new window Search chapters and essays contained in books of collected works, focusing on humanities and social sciences, including works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. This index covers archaeology, folklore, architecture, history, art, linguistics, literature, music, classical studies, poetry, drama, political science, economics, religion women's studies, and film. Coverage: 1985 to present. Citations only.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
Identify other Databases to Search
- Library A-Z Database ListUse the Subjects or Type drop-down to identify databases that will provide the type of information you need.
- English Research GuideDescribes how to do research at the Dickinson library and links to important library databases and other resources related to the study of English.
- WGSS Research GuideDescribes how to do research at the Dickinson library and links to important library databases and other resources related to Women's Gender & Sexuality Studies.
