Finding Articles
The library has different research tools to help you find journal articles:
- Databases - Library databases will help you find articles on a particular subject or topic. Select a database that contains the type of articles you are looking for (e.g. women's studies, news, psychology, biography), and begin with a keyword search to narrow in on your specific topic.
- Journals List - Use the journals list if you are looking for a specific article (for which you have basic citation information like the article title, journal title, author, etc.), or if you wish to search/browse the contents of a specific journal.
Find more information about articles, databases, and the Journals List below.
Evaluating Sources
It is important to evaluate the credibility of a source before you use it for your research. This evaluating sources guide will help you ask the right questions in order to determine if a source is the best one to use.
The quick reference guide and video below will help you to identify scholarly sources, specifically.
Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies Databases
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowAccess women's studies and feminist journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature. Coverage: mostly 20th century to present. Full text.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Explore the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. This collection includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and reports from government agencies and non-governmental organizations. Coverage: 1970 to present. Mostly full text.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly and popular publications covering lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, and sociology. This collection includes an LGBTQ+ thesaurus for enhanced searching. Coverage: 1951 to present. Full text.
Related Databases
Below are links to several databases related to Women's and Gender Studies. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, it might also be helpful to consult other research guides, such as sociology, religion, political science, health, history, etc.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowExplore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowView streaming films of documentaries, interviews, archival footage and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture, civil rights, and other issues. This collection is part of AVON: Academic Video Online, but may be searched separately. It may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1970-2019, contains primary sources. Full text.
- SocIndex with Full-Text This link opens in a new windowAccess sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.
