Company, Trade, and Statistics
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Search for statistical data and publications summarizing statistical findings, including data collected from United States federal and state government sources, private organizations, and intergovernmental organizations. This collection features descriptive abstracts and detailed indexing. Coverage: 1970 to present. Some full text.
- Sage Data, powered by Data Planet This link opens in a new window Find, visualize, and share billions of U.S. and international statistics from trusted sources that cover business, crime, health, labor and more. This collection contains mostly U.S., as well as some international, statistics on economic and social indicators, with built-in tools for creating data visualizations, charts and maps. Continuous updates for daily, weekly, monthly, and annual datasets are provided as data is released by the source providers.
- UN Data Center The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
- MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window Access up to date information on businesses, industries, and countries for business research. Coverage: current. Full text.
- PrivCo Private Company Data This link opens in a new window Access business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded, United States corporations, including family-owned or owner-operated firms that have no financial data available elsewhere, as well as fast-growing venture capital and private equity-backed startups, and international unlisted companies. Focus is on companies that are earning at least $1 million in annual revenue or have at least $1 million in venture capital backing. New company profiles, funding rounds and deals being added weekly. Search individual companies or build company lists and download/export data by industry, size, location, and more. Coverage: current. Full text.
- World Trade Organization The WTO is a place where member governments try to sort out the trade problems they face with each other.
- International Trade Centre Internet resources, including market profiles and international trade information.
News
- Economist Online -- Current This link opens in a new window See Special Access Instructions. Current issues of the Economist weekly news magazine, presenting the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them with a global editorial perspective. This magazine is also useful for research on company and industry trends and history. Supplements, special reports, surveys, full-color images, exportable financial tables, and a gallery of front covers are included. Coverage: 1997 to present. Full text.
- Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window Access news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
- Financial Times Online This link opens in a new window Register with FT.com to access current issues of Financial Times, including the UK, European, USA, Asian, and Middle East editions. See https://libguides.dickinson.edu/specialaccess/financialtimes for instructions. Coverage: 2005 to present. Full text.
- New York Times -- Current Online Access This link opens in a new window Register for a Group Pass to access current issues of New York Times online. See https://libguides.dickinson.edu/specialaccess/nytimes for instructions. Coverage: 1996-present, some historical content. Full text.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Access newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
Databases by Subject
Sociology
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.
- SocIndex with Full-Text This link opens in a new window Access sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text.
Business & Economics
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Explore all aspects of business from both scholarly and non-scholarly sources (news, trade publications). This collection includes case studies, country reports, company profiles, financial data, market research reports, and SWOT analyses in addition to books, journal articles, and trade magazines. Coverage: 1886 to present. Full text.
- EconLit (Economic Literature) This link opens in a new window Search peer-reviewed journals, working papers from international sources, books, book chapters, and dissertations on economics topics including capital markets, econometrics, government regulations, macro- and microeconomics, monetary theory and more. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
International Studies
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window Access research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This collection includes working papers, policy briefs, scholarly journal articles, ebooks, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Coverage: 1996 to present. Full text.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Access a weekly analysis on one of many broad-ranging topics from the news. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist. Coverage: 1991 to present. Full text.
Women's & Gender Studies
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Access women's studies and feminist journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature. Coverage: mostly 20th century to present. Full text.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Explore the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. This collection includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and reports from government agencies and non-governmental organizations. Coverage: 1970 to present. Mostly full text.
Citing Sources in ASA Style
American Sociological Association Style
