Research Guides: Sociology: SOCI 240

Find Scholarly Articles, Books, and Book Chapters

Search these databases to find scholarly journal articles related to your research topic.

Many of these databases contain a variety of different types of sources (including books, dissertations, news articles, etc.); not everything you find here will be scholarly journal articles or books.

See Anatomy of a Scholarly Article if you would like a reminder of the characteristics to look for in identifying scholarly sources.

Social Science Databases

SocIndex This link opens in a new window Access sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.

Databases from Related Disciplines

Multidisciplinary Databases

JumpStart This link opens in a new window Search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Search for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.