U.S. Data & Statistics
- American FactFinder: U.S. Census BureauUnited States social, demographic, and economic information.
- Census of Population and Housing: U.S. Census BureauHistorical decennial census publications from 1790 to present. "Special Collections & Reports" provides access to additional historical census bulletins and data such as imports & exports, manufacturers, and religious bodies.
- Data.gov This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of open United States data from federal agencies (e.g. NOAA, EPA, NASA, USAID, and Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Education, Energy, Health & Human Services, Homeland Security, Labor,Transportation, Justice, State, Veterans Affairs); as well as state, city and county governments.
- Economic IndicatorsEconomic Indicators is a monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the congressional Joint Economic Committee. It provides information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
- QuickFacts: U.S. Census BureauProvides facts about people, business, and geography based on the last U.S. Census. Profiles are available for the nation, states, counties, cities, and towns.
- Statistics at the State and Local LevelsLinks to various online statistical resources for all states (USA.Gov).
- Voting and RegistrationIn election years, the Current Population Survey collects data on reported voting and registration, and later reports stats by turnout, age, race and origin.
International Barometers
- Afrobarometer Survey Series: ICPSRThe Afrobarometer series represents a large-scale, cross-national survey research project designed to systematically map mass attitudes to democracy, markets, and civil society in more than a dozen sub-Saharan African nations, and ultimately, to track the evolution of such attitudes in selected nations over time. More specifically, the series furnishes research data on democracy, governance, livelihoods, macroeconomics and markets, social capital, political regimes and transition, conflict and crime, political participation, and national identity in sub-Saharan Africa.
- Arab BarometerNonpartisan research network that provides insight into the social, political, and economic attitudes and values of ordinary citizens across the Arab world. Largest repository of publicly available data on the views of men and women in the MENA region.
- AsiaBarometerThe largest comparative survey in Asia, covering East, Southeast, South, and Central Asia.
- Caucasus BarometerThe annual household survey about social economic issues and political attitudes conducted by the Caucasus Research Resource Center (CRRC).
- Eurobarometer Data ServiceRegular monitoring of public opinion in the European Union member countries. The standard modules ask for attitudes towards European unification, institutions and policies, complemented by measurements for general socio-political orientations, as well as by respondent and household demographics. Individual trends already count up to some 100 measurement points (e.g. general life satisfaction). Intermittently Eurobarometer extensively address special topics, such as environment, technology, health or family issues, and social or ethnic exclusion. To some extent topical questions are also replicated.
- EurostatKey European statistics.
- Global BarometerRepresents the largest, most careful and systematic comparative survey of attitudes and values toward politics, power, reform, democracy and citizens' political actions in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Arabic region.
- LatinobarómetroSummary level public opinion data for Latin America.
Statistical Databases at Dickinson Library
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new windowAccess social science data from around the world for research and instruction, and training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistical data and publications summarizing statistical findings, including data collected from United States federal and state government sources, private organizations, and intergovernmental organizations. This collection features descriptive abstracts and detailed indexing. Coverage: 1970 to present. Some full text.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowAccess poll questions and results conducted in the United States, as well as countries around the world. It includes surveys from a variety of pollsters (e.g. Quinnipiac University, Pew Research Center) and detailed information on the poll questions. Coverage: 1986 to present. Full text.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Access an online United States national data and mapping tool with multidisciplinary applications. This tool provides data related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Leverage U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group, up to a national level, as well as custom-created regions. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text. See our PolicyMap guide to get started: https://libguides.dickinson.edu/policymapguide
- International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new windowExplore key economic and social indicators from the late 18th to early 21st centuries. Access as an e-book or download as PDF or Excel tables. Coverage: 1750-2010. Full text.
- Sage Data, powered by Data Planet This link opens in a new window
Find, visualize, and share billions of U.S. and international statistics from trusted sources that cover business, crime, health, labor and more. This collection contains mostly U.S., as well as some international, statistics on economic and social indicators, with built-in tools for creating data visualizations, charts and maps. Continuous updates for daily, weekly, monthly, and annual datasets are provided as data is released by the source providers.
- CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowBrowse CQ Press electronic resources, including CQ Researcher and the CQ Press electronic editions of reference books. Reference books include Congress A to Z, Elections A to Z, Supreme Court A to Z, U.S. Constitution A to Z, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Guide to Interest Groups & Lobbying, Voter Turnout in the United States, Vital Statistics on American Politics, The Contemporary Middle East, and more. Some full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
Polling Resources
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowAccess poll questions and results conducted in the United States, as well as countries around the world. It includes surveys from a variety of pollsters (e.g. Quinnipiac University, Pew Research Center) and detailed information on the poll questions. Coverage: 1986 to present. Full text.
- American National Election Studies (ANES)ANES produces high quality data from its surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
- Gallup PollFor more than 70 years, Gallup has built its reputation on delivering relevant, timely, and visionary research on what humans around the world think and feel.
- Harris PollThe Harris Poll provides some free polling data covering a wide range of issues and industries including healthcare, technology, public affairs, energy, telecommunications, financial services, insurance, media, retail, restaurants, and consumer package goods.
- Pew Research CenterProvides data and analysis on the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the United States and the world.
- PollingReport.comAn independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. Most data free without subscription.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchArchives thousands of polls and surveys from the United States and some 70 foreign countries undertaken by many polling organizations on a very wide range of topics.
Surveys
- GSS General Social SurveyGathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviors, and attributes. Contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.
- The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health)The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health) is a longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States.
- World Values SurveyConsists of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire. The WVS is the largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values ever executed, currently including interviews with almost 400,000 respondents. Moreover, the WVS is the only academic study covering the full range of global variations, from very poor to very rich countries, in all of the world’s major cultural zones.