Research Guides: Sociology: Articles

Finding Articles

The library has different research tools to help you find journal articles:

Databases - Library databases will help you find articles on a particular subject or topic. Select a database that contains the type of articles you are looking for (e.g. women's studies, news, psychology, biography), and begin with a keyword search to narrow in on your specific topic.
Journals List - Use the journals list if you are looking for a specific article (for which you have basic citation information like the article title, journal title, author, etc.), or if you wish to search/browse the contents of a specific journal.

Find more information about articles, databases, and the Journals List below.

Search by Journal & Newspaper Title

Enter your search:

This box searches journal and newspaper titles only. Use JumpStart to search for specific articles.

Google Scholar

Social Sciences Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.

Sociology Databases

SocIndex with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Access sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Explore essential topics related to criminal justice and criminology, including forensic sciences, corrections and policing. This collection includes international journals. Coverage: early 1900s to present. Full text.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Access news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Explore the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. This collection includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and reports from government agencies and non-governmental organizations. Coverage: 1970 to present. Mostly full text.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly and popular publications covering lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, and sociology. This collection includes an LGBTQ+ thesaurus for enhanced searching. Coverage: 1951 to present. Full text.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Access women's studies and feminist journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature. Coverage: mostly 20th century to present. Full text.

More...

Waidner-Spahr Library

Sociology: Articles

Finding Articles

Search by Journal & Newspaper Title

Google Scholar

Social Sciences Multidisciplinary Databases

Sociology Databases