LGBT History in Dickinson Archives & Special Collections
- LGBT History Project of Central PA This link opens in a new windowExplore primary sources documenting LGBTQ+ lives and activism in Central Pennsylvania from the 20th century to the present. This resource includes oral history interviews, organization newsletters, event programs, activist group meeting notes, and photographs. This resource is hosted by the Dickinson College Archives and Special Collections and is a work in progress; new material is added on a regular basis. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
Regional LGBT Community Archives
Primary Source Databases
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new windowAccess meeting minutes, administrative records, publications, private correspondence, photographs, internal United States government memoranda, international archival documents, and more to illuminate the experiences of LGBTQ individuals. Materials come from major international activist organizations as well as local, grassroots groups. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: contains primary sources. A portion of this purchase was a gift of the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
- ACTUP Oral History Project
This link opens in a new window
Provides PDF transcripts and video clips of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York. - Digital Transgender Archive
- This link opens in a new window
An online hub for historical materials and archival information related to transgender history. Includes newsletters, magazines, zines, photos, court documents, oral histories, and more. Contains collections of papers and other documents from prominent trans people. Coverage: 1500-present. Contains primary sources. Some full text.
- Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access material relating to the early homosexual civil rights movement and the San Francisco manifestation of President Lyndon Johnson’s War on Poverty. This collection includes correspondence, meeting minutes, constitutions and by-laws, newsletters, manuscripts, financial documents, reports, statistics, legal decisions, surveys, counseling records, and funding proposal. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1941-1976, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access magazines, journals, and newspapers of alternative press archives. Collections include Black American, Campus Underground, Feminist, GI Press, LGBT, Latino, Little (literary) Magazine, Native American and Right-Wing publications. Coverage: second half of 20th century, contains primary sources. Full text. - In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings that document the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS). This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1983-1994, contains primary sources. Full text.
- LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates Web Archive
This link opens in a new window
An archive of websites related to LGBTQ+ political candidates and political issues and topics at various levels of government, with a focus on local and state politics. Also includes websites of political and legal organizations and media. Contains primary sources. Coverage: July 2018-present. Full text. - LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive (Library of Congress)
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of web sites that document LGBTQ+ history, scholarship, and culture in the U.S. and around the world. Includes websites from nonprofit organizations, the news, and more. Contains primary sources. Coverage: May 2018-present. Full text.
- OutHistory.org This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access an openly available archive of queer history which aims to tell the stories of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people. This website includes documents (testimony, letters, organizational publications, police reports), oral histories, visual collections, and timelines. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
- Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access newsletters issued by gay and lesbian political and social activist organizations throughout the country, as well as periodicals devoted to gay and lesbian political and social activist agendas—the "public" face of gay and lesbian activism. This collection also includes serial literature on its "private" face. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1947-2004, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access documents from the many decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin’s work for, and leadership of, the LGBT movement and the women’s rights movement both in San Francisco and nationally. This collection includes minutes, correspondence and notes related to their work with the ACLU, San Francisco Coalition for Human Rights, and other organizations. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1966-1984, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin & The Daughters of Bilitis (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access documents by and about the Daughters of Bilitis, the first lesbian rights organization in United States history, founded by Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin who created and helped shape the modern gay and feminist movements. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1955-1984, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowAccess documents relating to the history of women in social movements in the United States. This collection covers topics including black women suffragists, gender bias reports, women and antislavery, commissions on the status of women, notable American women, and more. Coverage: 1600-2000, contains primary sources. Full text.
Questions? Ask!
Primary Source Timeline
See our Primary Source Timeline to browse a selection of primary source databases organized by coverage dates and locations.