Core Databases
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Explore the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. This collection includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and reports from government agencies and non-governmental organizations. Coverage: 1970 to present. Mostly full text.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly and popular publications covering lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, and sociology. This collection includes an LGBTQ+ thesaurus for enhanced searching. Coverage: 1951 to present. Full text.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowView streaming films of documentaries, interviews, archival footage and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture, civil rights, and other issues. This collection is part of AVON: Academic Video Online, but may be searched separately. It may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1970-2019, contains primary sources. Full text.
Women's Studies
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowAccess women's studies and feminist journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature. Coverage: mostly 20th century to present. Full text.
Social Science Databases
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.
- SocIndex with Full-Text This link opens in a new windowAccess sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text.
Alternative / Left Publications
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAccess citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
