Research Guides: Film & Media Studies: Articles

Open Access Online Film Journals

Bright Lights Film Journal
Online journal for movie analysis and film history.
Film Criticism
Peer-reviewed, online publication bringing together scholarship in the field of cinema and media studies since 1975.
Film Studies For Free
A-Z list of links to online, Open Access, English-language Film-Studies related e-journals and other relevant scholarly, periodical websites with at least some OA content.
Images: A Journal of Film and Popular Culture
Online source for information on film and popular culture.
Journal of Religion & Film
Peer-reviewed journal which is committed to the study of connections between the medium of film and the phenomena of religion.
Jump Cut: A Review of Contemporary Media
Previously in print, Jump Cut publishes material on film, television, video, new media, and related media and cultural analysis.
Mise-en-scène: The Journal of Film & Visual Narration
International, peer-reviewed journal focused exclusively on the artistry of frame composition as a storytelling technique.
Scope
Peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Department of Culture, Film and Media and Institute for Screen Industries Research at the University of Nottingham.
Wide Screen
Peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the study of cinema, television and new media.

Sources for Spanish Films

Studies in Spanish and Latin American Cinemas
Promotes the study of Spanish-speaking cinemas.
Revista de Estudios Hispanicos
Features articles and reviews of books on the literature of Spain and Latin America.
Hispanic Research Journal
Promotes research about the cultures of the Iberian Peninsula and Latin America.
Bulletin of Hispanic Studies
Presents articles devoted to the languages, literature, and civilizations of Spain, Portugal and Latin America.
Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
Features Spanish culture and hispanism through innovative theoretical and critical work.
Post Script: Essays in Film and the Humanities
Publishes essays on film as language and literature, acting, film music, film as visual art, film and photography, film history, and aesthetics.

Google Scholar

Core Library Databases for Film and Media Studies

Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly and popular information covering the spectrum of television and film studies. This collection includes articles on film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Coverage: 20th century to present. Full text.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Access citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Explore material produced by the National Communication Association along with other journals in communication, mass media, and closely-related fields of study including language and linguistics. Coverage: 1915 to present. Some full text.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from English-language periodicals on subjects including anthropology, archaeology, art, classical studies, criminal justice, environmental studies, ethics, gender studies, international relations, law, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, religion and sociology. Use the library's "Get It!" button to obtain materials with no direct full text link. Coverage: 1907-1984. Citations only.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the popular press (magazines, news magazines, general interest periodicals), on topics including art, business, computers, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, health & medicine, history, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, and travel. Coverage: 1890-1982. Some full text.

More...

Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals

Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals 1930-1971 by Linda Batty (Compiled by)
Call Number: REF PN1993 .B38 1975
ISBN: 0835206602
Located in the reference collection behind the Biblio Café. Good source for finding information published before 1975.

Variety Archives

Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Variety full-text available from 1999 to present (html and color PDFs); indexing from 1988 to present.

Microfilm available from 1988-2004

Waidner-Spahr Library

Film & Media Studies: Articles

More Information on Journals

Open Access Online Film Journals

Sources for Spanish Films

Google Scholar

Core Library Databases for Film and Media Studies

Multidisciplinary Databases

Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals

Variety Archives