Find the best library databases for your research topic.
Use the lists in the All Database Types drop-down menu to find primary sources including newspaper articles, images, videos, data, and historic collections. See our Primary Source Timeline to browse a selection of primary source databases organized by coverage dates and locations.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
A growing digital archive of newspapers published in a prison by incarcerated individuals. When complete, this collection will bring together hundreds of periodicals from across the country, representing penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Coverage: 1800-2020. Full text. Contains primary sources.
JoVE provides science videos for research and education. Educational videos enhance teaching of science concepts and laboratory methods. Dickinson's access includes JoVE Science Education and JoVE Core collections. Coverage: varies. Full text. Extended trial available through December 31, 2021.
Contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements. Most content in Spanish or Portuguese. Contains some materials in Italian, German, Dutch, French, and English. Funded by the Walter E. Beach '56 Library Endowment.
Scopus is a curated abstract & index database that links researchers to scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. As a citation database, Scopus also provides tools for users to discover and analyze the connections between research. Researchers can find related documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identify subject experts; track citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assess trends in search results. Coverage: 1788-present.
Contains transcriptions of all handwritten documents from 1923 to July 1941, as well as subsequent writings that were dictated up to 1945. This edition, issued by the Institut für Zeitgeschichte, is based on the reproduction of the entire diaries on glass microfiches – commissioned by Goebbels himself – that was discovered by Elke Fröhlich in the former special archive in Moscow. Content is in German. Coverage: 1923 - 1945. Contains primary sources. Full text.