Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Documentary and Independent Film
General Websites for Film
Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
Database of movies worldwide. Provides summaries of films and lists actors, directors, and others involved with the making of each film. Official movie websites are provided for many films.
American Film Institute (AFI)
AFI preserves the history of motion pictures, along with providing leadership in film, television, and digital media.
British Film Institute (BFI)
The BFI brings together the BFI National Archive and BFI Reuben Library, film distribution, exhibition and education at BFI Southbank and BFI IMAX, publishing and festivals. Includes film industry statistics and reports.
Festival de Cannes
Official site for information on the Cannes Film Festival.
Sundance Institute and Film Festival
Site for the Sundance Film Festival and Sundance Institute providing creative and financial support for filmmakers.
Toronto International Film Festival (tiff)
The Toronto International Film Festival is Canada's premiere home of cinema, dedicated to presenting the best of international and Canadian cinema. It offers screenings, lectures, discussions, festivals, workshops, events, professional development and opportunities to meet, hear, and learn from filmmakers from Canada and around the world.
National Screening Room (Library of Congress)
A free collection of digitized historical films, commercials, newsreels, and other clips. According to the collection, most of the movies are available for downloading; others are only available to stream. Most of the movies cover the period from 1891 through 1999.
History of Film
Yale's Guide to Film Studies
Comprehensive guide to researching Film Studies.
Site devoted to classic film.
Website devoted to silent era films.
Media History Digital Library
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. An initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of important trade papers and fan magazines that belong in the public domain for full public access.