Selected U.S. Government Websites
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)The homepage for the EPA.
- Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) ProgramTRI provides information about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities.
- EPA Enforcement and Compliance History Online (ECHO)The complete compliance record for the EPA and State inspections.
- EPA Laws and RegulationsProvides regulatory information by topic and sector.
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association (NOAA)NOAA's mission is to "understand and predict changes in climate, weather, oceans and coasts; to share that knowledge and information with others; and to conserve and manage coastal and marine ecosystems and resources."
- Department of EnergyGovernment research and development information related to energy.
- Federal RegisterThe official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
PA, Regional & Local Government
- PA Department of Environmental ProtectionPA DEP's mission is to "protect Pennsylvania's air, land and water from pollution and to provide for the health and safety of its citizens through a cleaner environment."
- PA Department of Conservation and Natural ResourcesPA DCNR oversees the states parks and natural resources.
- PA DEP Online LibraryProvides reports produced by the DEP, as well as environmental laws of PA.
- PA DEP ReportsProvides reports on oil and gas; land recycling; radiation protection; storage tanks; water; laboratories; hazardous sites; grants and loans; and mining.
- EPA Region 3 (Mid-Atlantic)The local EPA region.
- Cumberland County Conservation DistrictA governmental agency that advocates the stewardship and protection of the natural resources of Cumberland County, PA to sustain and improve the quality of life for its citizens.
- Agricultural Land Preservation Board, Cumberland County, PAOversees implementation of the Agricultural Conservation Easement (ACE) Program, which aims to protect viable agricultural lands by acquiring agricultural conservation easements that prevent the development or improvements of land for any purpose other than agricultural production.
Google Search Across Government Sites
- Google Search: Government SitesBegin your Google search with site:.gov (or another site domain/URL), to search specific government, agency, or organization websites.
Examples of Google Site Searches for government reports (or reports from any organization you choose):
- site:.gov [your keywords, without the brackets]
This will give you results from any .gov site (which includes U.S. state and federal government sites). - site:pa.gov [your keywords, without the brackets]
This will give you results from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, including agencies like PADEP and DCNR. - site:epa.gov [your keywords, without the brackets]
This will give you results from the Environmental Protection Agency website
Government Publications Databases
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Publications in HathiTrustContains over 10,000 documents produced by the EPA. Coverage: 1972-2009. Mostly full-text. See our special access instructions.
- Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution & Environmental Policy (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access documents on the implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 and other environmental issues including endangered species and the protection of wetlands. This collection includes staff and office files from the George H. W. Bush presidency including letters, memoranda, and reports. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1989-1991, contains primary sources. Full text.
- U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1789-Present) This link opens in a new windowAccess House and Senate documents and reports from congressional committees, from the late-1700s to present, as well as high-resolution maps from 1789-2007, from the Army Corps of Engineers and the U.S. Geological Survey, among others. Coverage: varies. Full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Walter E. Beach Library Fund.
- Congressional Universe This link opens in a new windowExplore Congressional publications, committee prints, Congressional hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, legislative histories, bill tracking, and public law. This collection includes high resolution Serial Set maps from 1789 to 1969. Coverage: 1776 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Government Information DatabasesThe library has access to several databases that provide government information. Read the database descriptions carefully to determine whether they might contain the kind of information you're looking for.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
