Reference Books - Finding Background Information
Reference books, including encyclopedias and dictionaries, can be excellent sources of background information on a topic.
Credo Reference is a collection of online reference books. Use the search box below to find entries related to your research topic.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History is a peer-reviewed encyclopedia providing background information and a bibliography for further reading. Click the Environmental History section after opening the database.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window Explore diverse aspects of American history from the colonial period through the twentieth century. Topics include the Civil War and reconstruction, politics, economics, women, science and technology, labor, and the environment, as well as the history of groups such as Native Americans, Latinos/Hispanics, African Americans, and Asian Americans. Full text.
Reference Books
Below is a selection of reference books relevant to Environmental Science/Studies.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781412927611Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History by Call Number: REF GF10 .E63 2003Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780444522733Publication Date: 2008
Berkshire Encyclopedia of SustainabilityCall Number: REF GE140 .B47 2010ISBN: 1933782196Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of the Environment in American Literature by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1476600538Publication Date: 2013
U.S. Land and National Resource Policy: History, Debates, State Data, Maps, Primary Documents by Call Number: OVERSIZE HD216 .G76ISBN: 1592376843Publication Date: 2012
Finding Books
Use the library catalog search box on this page to find books and e-books at Dickinson.
Jumpstart searches both the catalog and a large number of library databases, so it is also great place to start your research.
For help understanding library call numbers and locating books in the library, please see our tutorial on finding books in the Waidner-Spahr Library and the library map.
Library Catalog
Enter your search:
