Databases Focusing On Environmental Issues
Use these databases to search for articles on your environmental studies/science topic. Click here to access our tutorial on choosing a database.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess articles covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
- JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, ebooks, and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the biological sciences, business & economics, ecology, environmental sciences, law, public health, urban studies, and more. Coverage: historic and current. Full text.
- Green FILE This link opens in a new windowSearch scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports on the connection between the environment and agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowAccess news, overviews, videos, commentaries, primary source documents and statistics related to the interdisciplinary study of sustainability and the environment. This collection includes research areas such as energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowAccess titles focusing on biological, ecological and environmental sciences. This collection primarily consists of journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Coverage: varies, 1965 to present. Full text.
- Coastal Zone Information Collection (CZIC) from NOAAProvides documents (1951-1999) crucial to the understanding of U.S. coastal management and NOAA's mission to sustain healthy coasts. The above link provides a clickable list of documents. To search across the collection, click on "Search Government Publications" and then "Advanced Search" and use the Available Collections pull-down menu to select "Coastal Zone Information Collection".
- Energy Citations Database This link opens in a new windowAccess scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from United States Department of Energy (DOE) funded research and development on energy and energy-related topics. Coverage: 1940 to present. Some full text.
- Green EnergyThe U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) provides access to over 30,000 technical reports and over 2,000 patents from R&D projects that pertain to renewable energy resources and energy conservation.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExplore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowAccess global research on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas covered include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Coverage: 1892 to present. Citations only.
General Science Databases
- General Science EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSearch everything from supernovas to marine pollution. This collection is a good starting point for researchers seeking information on a variety of scientific topics. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities that meet the scholarly communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries. This collection provides a way to assure visibility and accessibility to their scholarly literature. English, Spanish, and Portuguese search interfaces are available. Full text will be in the language of the original publication. Coverage: current and back issues of journals. Mostly full text. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess articles in journals published by Elsevier focusing on science, technology and medicine. Coverage: varies - some 1850 to present. Some full text.
- CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowFirst time users must register to search SciFinder, which is available to current Dickinson affiliates only. Contact the Chemistry Liaison Librarian for registration information.
Search for important scientific discoveries as well as organic and inorganic substance information with references from journals and patents. This resource also provides step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. Citations only. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.
- Springer Nature ExperimentsFind, evaluate and implement experiments across the life sciences with the new research solution for protocols and methods from Springer Nature. Searches over 50,000 published protocols and methods.
Getting the Articles
If you find an article in a database:
Look for a link to the pdf or HTML version of the article. If there isn't one, click on the "Get It!" button to see if we have access.
Tutorial: How to Use the Get It! Button
Finding a specific article:
If there is no direct link or "Get It!" button, search the Journals List for the title of the journal in which it was published. If you find the journal title, see if we have access to the year in which the journal article was published, and then follow the relevant link.
Requesting articles we don't own:
If we don't have access to an article in our collection, then you can place an order for it through ILLIAD.
The first time you use ILLIAD, you will need to set up an account.
Once you have an account, just click the "ILLIAD" link in the "Get it!" button and log in. The request form will be automatically populated with the citation information for the article. Just hit "submit" and wait for your article to arrive. Articles often arrive in the same day, but sometimes take a few days. Be sure to plan ahead!
Databases in Other Subject Areas
Articles related to Environmental Studies/Science can be found throughout the library. Depending on your topic, you may wish to search databases from other disciplines, including the ones below. But don't let this list limit you. See our full list of research guides for others.
