Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Reference Works
Reference works such as encyclopedias and dictionaries provide basic overview articles on various branches of knowledge. They are excellent places to begin research on your topic. Although citing reference works is not considered scholarly practice, they can provide general knowledge about your topic, help you develop a thesis, supply you with important keywords for searching, and provide you with citations to important primary and secondary works on the topic.
Online Reference Material
The library also has a number of online reference works that are relevant to East Asian Studies. Some are listed below.
Includes more than 900 encyclopedic titles from respected publishers in all disciplines taught at Dickinson, including various language dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series and numerous other biographical sources, economics and business encyclopedias, food and agriculture sources, publishing sources, atlases, and many encyclopedias covering the arts, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more. Full-Text.
Country Studies / Area Handbooks
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Series sponsored by the U.S. Department of the Army. Coverage: Current. Full-Text.
A combination of the Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, magazines, periodicals, and more. Is one of the broadest single sources for beginning research on any topic. Includes full text multimedia encyclopedia articles, country statistics and comparisons, timelines, bibliographies, and links to journal articles and web sites. Interactive features allow you to create your own workspace to save and share your research. An ideal starting point, especially for topics unfamiliar to you. Coverage: Historical and current. Full-Text.