Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Romanization/Transliteration of Japanese
Digitized Rare Book Collections
Japanese Language Sources
In the library catalog and WorldCat, both to the left, you can find books written in Japanese. Additional sources in Japanese are available via the databases below.
If you find an item that the library does not own, you can usually obtain it using the library's Borrow from Other Libraries option.
For news sources in Japanese, please see "Japanese Newspapers" on the News page of this guide.
Koseisha Japanese Magazine Index Database
Entirely in the Japanese language, the Koseisha database indexes magazines and periodical articles from the Meiji era 1868 to the present. It includes periodicals locally published in Japan as well as those published in neighboring countries during the colonial times. The database is linked with the National Diet Library's Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (Japanese Periodical Index of 19,514 journals held by the National Diet Library of Japan), the National Institute of Informatics' CiNii (a research article index) and Webcat (a union catalog of the academic libraries in Japan). Coverage: 1868 to present. Citations Only.
Yomidas Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shimbun)
Over 11 million articles from every issue of Japan's major newspaper, The Yomiuri Shimbun. In four parts: 1) The Meiji, Taisho and Showa Eras section (1874-1989), 2) The Heisei Era section (September 1986 onwards), „ÄÄ3) The Daily Yomiuri section (September 1989 onwards), and 4) The Contemporary Who's Who, with searchable biographical data and articles on over 26,000 prominent individuals. Includes photos, images, advertisements. Search in Japanese or English. English versions of modern articles are available. Coverage: 1874 to present, contains primary sources. Full-Text.