Welcome!
Welcome to the Theatre & Dance research guide. These short pages of tips and links will help you get started on your research.
Best Databases for Theatre & Dance
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowAccess journal articles and books on all aspects of theater and the performing arts including ballet, comedy, dance, drama, mime, opera, and puppetry. Coverage: 1900s-present. Full text.
- Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Access play scripts and scholarly works on theory, criticism, and practice, from Ancient Greece to the present. Use the "Advanced Play Search" to search by cast size (including monologues for auditions) or play length. Bloomsbury. Coverage: antiquity to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
- National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
View streaming films of theatrical productions, and access related archival materials, from the United Kingdom's National Theatre. Coverage: mostly 21st century. Volume 1. Full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television This link opens in a new window
Access biographical information on individuals active in the theatre, film, and television industries, including behind-the-scenes specialists such as designers, managers, choreographers, executives and critics, as well as performers, directors, writers and producers from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and the world. Coverage: 1984-2012, but varies by collection. Full text.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Access eBooks, museum exhibitions, images, lesson plans and bibliographic guides on fashion and related fields, including the full text of the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and an extensive color image bank through Bloomsbury Fashion Central. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore quality images covering the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, fashion, geography, the performing arts, science, and technology. Collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, which have been rights-cleared for educational use. ***It is necessary to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker for ARTstor to work properly.*** Recommended instructions for using ARTstor on JSTOR are available. A video on how to refine image searches in JSTOR is also available. Coverage: all eras, contains primary sources. Full text.
