Research Guides: Theatre & Dance: Films & Media

DVDs & Videocassettes

You can search for films in our Library Catalog or by using our Film Search web page.

Our DVD cases are filed alphabetically by titles on display shelves for browsing on the main level. (The discs are kept behind the circulation desk.) Retrieve the cases from the display shelves, and take them to the circulation desk to check out.

Videocassettes are not on display shelves, but they are all in the catalog. Just give the call number to the person at the circulation desk.

Streaming Video

Thousands of streaming videos are available through library databases.

Dance Online: Dance in Video, Volume I This link opens in a new window
View streaming films of performances, documentaries, interviews and instructional videos for studying modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, dance history and more. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1960s-2010s, contains primary sources. Full text.
Films on Demand Streaming This link opens in a new window
View streaming films from across the disciplines, including HBO documentaries. Search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists. Closed captioning is available for many films. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
View streaming films of documentaries and feature films on diverse topics. Films labeled "PPR" may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. No guest access: Dickinson login required. If you are looking for a specific film, please first check Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Those databases provide unlimited subscription access; use of the same film in Kanopy may result in additional charges for the library. For help using the Kanopy app, see Kanopy's instructions. Full text.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
View streaming films of documentaries from renowned distributors, covering various topics including agriculture and food, business and economics, education, gender studies, psychology and mental health, recreation and sports, science and technology, and more. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Swank Streaming - Semester-Long Licenses This link opens in a new window
View streaming films licensed by the college per semester for educational use. Streaming films on Swank licensed by the library are for course use only. Coverage: varies. Full text.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Theatre & Dance: Films & Media

DVDs & Videocassettes

Streaming Video