Visual Databases
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore quality images covering the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, fashion, geography, the performing arts, science, and technology. Collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, which have been rights-cleared for educational use. ***It is necessary to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker for ARTstor to work properly.*** Recommended instructions for using ARTstor on JSTOR are available. A video on how to refine image searches in JSTOR is also available. Coverage: all eras, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Berg Fashion Library (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new windowAccess eBooks, museum exhibitions, images, lesson plans and bibliographic guides on fashion and related fields, including the full text of the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and an extensive color image bank. This collection is useful for research in fashion, theatre & dance, anthropology, art history, history, American studies, and cultural studies. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Access high-quality photojournalism and cartography, and in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment in this official journal of the National Geographic Society. Each page and photograph in this collection is fully searchable. Coverage: 1888-2015, contains primary sources. Full text.
Citing Visual Resources
Open Source (free) Visual Resources Online
- Dickinson College Archives on Flickr This link opens in a new windowView selected photographs from Dickinson's special collections, including images of 1920s Alaska, the Carlisle Indian School, the 1893 World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago, and late 19th-century Europe. Visit the Dickinson Archives to access the original photographs. Coverage: contains primary sources. Citations only.
Example Visual Resource
Do the Dance-Elizabeth Murray (2005)