Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistical Databases at Dickinson Library
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data from around the world for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Mostly US, but some international statistics on economic and social indicators, with built-in tools for creating charts and maps. Access was formerly through Statistical Insight.
- International Historical Statistics
Key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years. Users can view content as e-book or download as PDF or Excel tables.
- Polling the Nations
Provides access to over 14,000 surveys conducted in the United States, as well as countries around the world. It includes surveys from a variety of pollsters and detailed information on the questions.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Searches statistical data and publications summarizing statistical findings. Includes data collected from U.S. federal and state government sources, private organizations, and intergovernmental organizations. Features descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents and tables, and down-loadable spreadsheets containing table data.
- Data Citation Index
From Web of Knowledge, a database of research data from repositories around the world, with links to works that cite the data. Data is mostly from the life sciences, but includes a significant number of social science and physical science data sets, and a smaller number of sets from the humanities.
Search across a variety of UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Includes country profiles with summary, economic, social, and environmental data.
Data from the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development.
Create custom graphs in order to compare different nations across a broad range of statistics, or view statistical profiles for an individual country. This is a commercial site, although data sources are cited.
ILOSTAT (International Labour Organization)
International database of labor statistics covering the economically active population, employment, unemployment, wages and related variables.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Internationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
International Trade Statistics (World Trade Organization)
Quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
Key European statistics.
Doing Business Project (The World Bank)
Provides information about business regulation around the world. Topics include starting a business, dealing with construction permits, getting electricity, registering property, getting credit, protecting minority investors, paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts and resolving insolvency.