Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers & Magazines
Nexis Uni provides access to hundreds of newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. Content types include news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: Varies but generally 1980s to current, contains primary sources. Mostly Full-Text.
Newspaper Source Plus
More than 850 national and international newspapers, plus 870,000+ television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS. Coverage: Mid 1990s-present. Full-Text.
Ethnic News Watch
Covers news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1990 to present. Mostly Full-Text.
Summary level public opinion data for Latin America.
Latin American Network Information Center
A useful gateway to Internet-based information on Latin America, created by the University of Texas at Austin.
Latin American Open Archives Portal
A database of working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials typically published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.
Political Database of the Americas
Offers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies, and other subjects related to the Americas.
This website provides a gallery of more than 100 color images, interpretive essays, and a searchable bibliography on visual culture in Spanish America.
Maps of the Americas
Online collection of current and historical maps of the Americas compiled by the Perry-Castañeda Library at the University of Texas.
Criteria for Evaluating Websites
- Make sure author provides e-mail or a contact address/phone number.
- Know the distinction between author and Webmaster.
- What credentials are listed for the authors)?
- Where is the document published? Check URL domain.
- Determine if page is a mask for advertising; if so information might be biased.
- View any Web page as you would an infommercial on television. Ask yourself: why was this written and for whom?
- How many dead links are on the page?
- Are the links current or updated regularly?
- Is the information on the page outdated?
- If page requires special software to view the information, how much are you missing if you don't have the software?
- Is it free or is there a fee to obtain the information?
- Is there an option for text only, or frames, or a suggested browser for better viewing?
Source: Cornell University Library