Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Psychological & Social Aspects
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search a comprehensive index to international psychology literature in journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1800s to present. Citations only.
PubMed (with Dickinson links) This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical articles from several National Library of Medicine resources, including MEDLINE, life science journals and ebooks. This special version of PubMed includes Dickinson library's "Get It" links to additional full text. Coverage: late 1700s to present. Some full text.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Explore review articles that summarize the progress in fields including the biomedical sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, public health, and social sciences. Search across all subjects or limit by subject area. Coverage: 1932 to present, but varies by series. Some full text.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Search for worldwide research on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health issues associated with traumatic events. This index is produced by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. Coverage: 1871 to current. Some full text.
Research reports, surveys and statistics, public policy statements, and educational materials from the AARP, "a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that helps people 50 and older improve the quality of their lives."
CDC Healthy Aging
Links to research reports, data and statistics on aging.
National Institute on Aging
A center for federally funded research on aging. One of the (U.S.) National Institutes of Health.
State of Aging and Health in America (SAHA)
"This report series provides the most current data on 15 key indicators of older adult health at the national and state levels, as well as calls to action, state success stories, and other resources."
Spanish mirror site to the English version of MedlinePlus. Includes a health encyclopedia, articles on specific health topics and drugs, health news, and quality screened web links.
Informacion para el Consumidor
From the U.S. National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements. "A growing collection of Spanish language, science-based resources about dietary supplements, including fact sheets on vitamins and minerals."
New York Online Access to Health
Entire site mirrored in Spanish and English. By a cooperative of NY City Libraries, NOAH's mission is to "provide access to high quality full-text consumer health information in English and Spanish that is accurate, timely, relevant and unbiased."
Spanish version has sections for children's, men's and women's health, and health conditions A-Z. The information is written for health care consumers.
Health Care Interpreting
Resources from the National Council on Interpreting in Health Care.
Global, Cultural Aspects
Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO) This link opens in a new window
Access journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities that meet the scholarly communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries. This collection provides a way to assure visibility and accessibility to their scholarly literature. English, Spanish, and Portuguese search interfaces are available. Full text will be in the language of the original publication. Coverage: current and back issues of journals. Mostly full text.
Global Index Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
Information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to the U.S., including refugees.
Minority Health & Health Equity Archive
"... an electronic archive for digital resource materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy. It is offered as a no-charge resource to the public, academic scholars and health science researchers interested in the elimination of racial and ethnic health disparities."
Forgotten people, forgotten diseases : the neglected tropical diseases and their impact on global health and development
An E-Book by Peter J. Hotez, M.D., Ph.D., an internationally-recognized clinician and investigator in neglected tropical diseases and vaccine development.
Millenium Development Goals, United Nations
Background and updates on these long-range international goals: end poverty & hunger; universal education; gender equality; child health; maternal health; combat HIV/AIDS; environmental sustainability; global partnership.
Against the Odds: Making a Difference in Global Health
A multimedia site organized around the themes of Community Health, Action on AIDS, Food for Life, the Legacy of War, Preventing Disease, and Global Collaboration. From the National Library of Medicine.
Sick Around the World - Health Care Systems
Resources page with links to reports, interviews and analysis. Companion to the Frontline series on global health systems written by Jon Palfreman and T.R. Reid.
Multi-Cultural Resources for Health Information (portal)
An extensive set of links to various multi-cultural and multi-lingual information sources on the web, compiled by the (U.S.) National Library of Medicine.