Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Scholarly Publications
EconLit (Economic Literature)
A major database for economics. It covers peer-reviewed journals, working papers from international sources, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some Full-Text.
PubMed (with Dickinson links)
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. This special version includes Dickinson library's "Get It" links to additional full-text. Coverage: 1950s to present. Some Full-Text.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Not-for-Profit & Academic Organizations
Center for Science in the Public Interest
"advocate for nutrition and health, food safety, alcohol policy, and sound science."
A private foundation "that aims to promote a high performing health care system....particularly for society's most vulnerable...."
Advocacy group for health care consumers.
Kaiser Family Foundation
"...a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy...a non-partisan source of facts, information, and analysis..."
Leapfrog Group for Patient Safety
"works with its employer members to encourage transparency and easy access to health care information [and]....rewards for hospitals that have a proven record of high quality care."
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
A private, nonprofit institution that provides independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions. The aim of the Health & Medicine Division is to help those in government and the private sector make informed health decisions by providing evidence upon which they can rely.
RAND Health is a major research division of the RAND Corporation, a nonprofit institution whose mission is to improve health and health care around the world by conducting research and analysis aimed at improving policy and decision making.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
A private foundation whose stated mission is "to improve the health and health care of all Americans". Publications arising from foundation grant-funded projects on a wide-range of health issues are available at the website.