Article Databases
- PubMed (with Dickinson links) This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. This special version includes Dickinson library's "Get It' links to additional full-text. Short tutorials are available at: https://learn.nlm.nih.gov/documentation/training-packets/T0042010P/
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowExplore review articles that summarize the progress in fields including the biomedical sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, public health, and social sciences. Search across all subjects or limit by subject area. Coverage: 1932 to present, but varies by series. Some full text.
Specialized Health Web Search Engine
- HONCode HuntHealth on the Net specialized search engine for finding reliable health information.
Consumer Health Information
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowAccess reliable, up-to-date health information produced by the National Institutes of Health. A Spanish language version is also available. This collection includes drug information, the ADAM medical encyclopedia, medical news, and interactive health tutorials, and videos. Full text.
- New York Online Access to HealthEntire site mirrored in Spanish and English. By a cooperative of NY City Libraries, NOAH's mission is to "provide access to high quality full-text consumer health information in English and Spanish that is accurate, timely, relevant and unbiased."
- MLA Top Health WebsitesThe Consumer and Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS) of MLA evaluates websites based on the following criteria: credibility, sponsorship/authorship, content, audience, currency, disclosure, purpose, links, design, interactivity, and disclaimers.
- Families USAAn advocacy and lobbying group for healthcare consumers.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAccess encyclopedic titles in all disciplines taught at Dickinson, including various language dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series and numerous other biographical sources, economics and business encyclopedias, food and agriculture sources, publishing sources, atlases, and many encyclopedias covering the arts, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- ADAM Medical Encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowAccess basic information on diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests, surgeries and more, written at a level for the general reader. Illustrations are included and English & Spanish versions are available. Full text.
- What Did My Doctor Say?A guide to help understand medical terminology.
(U.S.) National Center for Health Statistics
Evaluating Health Information
- Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Tutorial16 minute audio/visual tutorial on evaluating websites. Covers steps of evaluating websites for authority, funding, quality and privacy protection.
- User's Guide to Finding and Evaluating Health Information on the WebTips for finding reliable health information on the internet, and criteria for evaluating website quality. From the Medical Library Association.
