Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic German Research E-books
Business German Dictionary, 2d ed. Petter Collins, 1994.
Covers the essential business vocabulary of German and English, with translations into the other language. The entries cover the main areas of day-to-day business usage.
Collins German Dictionary, 7th ed., 2007.
Contains entries and translations including thousands of contemporary technical business and political terms.
Encyclopedia of German Literature, 1st ed., Routledge, 2000.
Designed to provide English readers of German literature the opportunity to familiarize themselves with both the established canon and newly emerging literatures that reflect the concerns of women and ethnic minorities, the encyclopedia includes entries on writers, individual works, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.
This research guide highlights some of the most important library resources for German Studies at Dickinson. It is designed to help you get started on your research. For more assistance, contact the library liaison for German, Theresa Arndt.
Quick Start Databases for German Research
BDSL (Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft)
The most important and comprehensive international bibliography of published works on German language, literature, and cultural studies. The database itself is in German, but it indexes journal articles, books and reviews in numerous languages. This source has citations only, not full-text; you will need to use the Get-It! button and often interlibrary loan (Illiad) to obtain the full-text of the materials listed. Coverage: 1985 to present. Citations Only.
KLG - Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur
A German literature database covering more than 700 authors writing in German who began publishing after 1945. Each entry contains a biographical sketch, a detailed critical essay, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources. All the information is in German only. Coverage: 1945-present. Full-Text.
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text
The definitive index for the study of language, literature, composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals. International in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, and more. Coverage: 1963-present. Some full text.