Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these sources to search for journals, magazines, and newspapers that focus on particular broad subjects, are published in specific countries, are in the German language, etc. They do NOT provide access to individual articles.
A directory of German periodicals published from 1500 to the present, and held in 4,300 German libraries. About 1.2 million periodical titles with detailed information of what issues and years are held in which libraries. Search in English or German. Limits available for "online free of charge", language, country of publication. Note: this source does not indicate if a publication is scholarly or not, and it does not index the individual articles in the periodicals.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Information about the more than 6000 journals covered by the MLA Bibliography database, including editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of scope, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, links to online content, peer review, and submission guidelines. Coverage: Varied. Citations Only.
Ulrich's International Periodical Directory
Publication information ABOUT serials, periodicals, journals. Indicates if a journal is peer-reviewed (refereed). NOT for finding specific articles. Tells where a journal is indexed. Includes evaluative reviews for most journals. Includes full-text links to some Open Access journals. Coverage: 1932 to present. Some Full-Text.