Databases
Here are some resources for looking up definitions for terms that may come up in the resources that you find. Click here to access our tutorial on choosing a database.
- Guide to Minerals, Rocks, and FossilsThrough Credo Reference.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAccess encyclopedic titles in all disciplines taught at Dickinson, including various language dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series and numerous other biographical sources, economics and business encyclopedias, food and agriculture sources, publishing sources, atlases, and many encyclopedias covering the arts, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Divisions of Geologic TimeOnline from the USGS.
Reference Materials
The following reference works are only a small representation of the reference collection in the disciplines of Earth Sciences and Environmental Science. The library's reference collection is extensive and will contain many similar dictionaries and encyclopedias for hundreds of subject areas. An easy way to find additional reference works would be to do a SUBJECT search in the library catalog. For example, to find dictionaries and encyclopedias on Climate Change you would perform a subject search on CLIMATE CHANGE and add the keyword ENCYCLOPEDIA or DICTIONARY
Relevant subject headings for this project include:
Here are some suggested titles:
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781412992626Publication Date: 2012
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Geology and Mineralogy by Call Number: REF QE5 .M3654 1997ISBN: 0070524327Publication Date: 1997
