Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Texts
Digital Loeb Classical Library
Provides Classical Greek and Latin literature in a fully searchable, growing collection of more than 520 volumes. Funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund. Coverage: contains primary sources.
Library of Latin Texts Online
Click "Enter Databases" button and scroll down to search separately or via "Cross Database Search Tool". LLT-A is a database of more than 3,200 latin texts from Antiquity to the twentieth century. LLT-B is a complementary database with about 300 texts already available. Coverage: Antiquity to present. Full-Text.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Contains digitized versions of most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. Coverage: 8th century BC to AD 1453 . Full-Text. Users must create a TLG account while on Dickinson's network to access full text content.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae Online
TLL provides access to the contents of all lexicon articles published up to 2008, the articles in the Onomasticon volumes, the Index librorum and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis, a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus. Each year the contents of the newly printed fascicles will be added to the database. Coverage: Antiquity to present. Full-Text.
Free Web Resources
A collection of primary texts in Greek, Latin, and several other languages.
A large index to works of classical scholarship and primary texts in Greek and Latin that are freely available online.
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum
A digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century.
IntraText Digital Library
A collection of primary texts in Latin, including patristics and modern works. Other modern languages are also represented.
A site on Roman antiquity containing primary texts, images, and learning tools.
A collection of Latin texts: classical, Christian, medieval, and modern.
Migne Patrologia Graeca and Latina
Complete texts, in Latin and Greek, of early documents of the Christian Church.
Information, background, text, and images of Greek papyri.
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world that contains thousands of Greek and Latin texts, images, and secondary sources.
Primary Source Images
A massive (and growing) collection of quality images covering the visual arts, architecture, archaeology, fashion, geography, the performing arts, science, and technology. Collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, which have been licensed for educational use. ***It is necessary to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker for ARTstor to work properly.*** Recommended instructions for using ARTstor are available on Youtube
and the ARTstor website
. Coverage: all eras, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Speculum Romanae Magnificentiae
A collection of engravings of Rome and Roman antiquities, the core of which consists of prints published by Antonio Lafreri and gathered under a title page he printed in the mid-1570s.
These are collections of primary sources in Greek and Latin and collections of art and architecture from the ancient world.
Primary Source Timeline
See our Primary Source Timeline to browse a selection of primary source databases organized by coverage dates and locations.