Library-Provided Databases
- OpenBibArt This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search descriptive records for books, journals, and exhibition and auction catalogs, covering literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the mid-2000s. This bibliography brings together the records from the following databases: The Répertoire d’Art et d’Archéologie (RAA); International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) and the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Coverage: 1910-2007. Citations only. - Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new windowIndex to chapters and essays contained in books of collected works. Coverage: 1985 to present. Citations Only.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe premier scholarly index for literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, covering secondary source articles 1963 to present. Coverage: 1963 to present. Some Full-Text.
- TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) This link opens in a new windowProvides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Citations Only.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowA huge catalog of more than 140 million books and other materials in 71,000 member libraries worldwide. Very useful for discovering books that our library does not own that you can borrow via interlibrary loan (EZ-Borrow or ILLiad).
Dickinson College Commentaries
- Dickinson College CommentariesLatin and Greek texts for reading, with explanatory notes, vocabulary, and graphic, video, and audio elements.
History, Literature, Language, and Culture
- Bryn Mawr Classical ReviewBryn Mawr Classical Review publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology).
- De Imperatoribus RomanisDIR is an on-line encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453), including usurpers.
- Demos: Classical Athenian DemocracyA digital encyclopedia of classical Athenian democracy describing the history, institutions, and people of democratic Athens in the 5th and 4th centuries BCE.
- Diotima: Women and Gender in the Ancient WorldAn interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean. Includes links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images.
- Latin Place NamesLatin Place Names Found in the Imprints of Books Printed Before 1801 and their Vernacular Equivalents in AACR2 (Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules) Form
- Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related AreasNestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.
- Overview of Late AntiquityA short introduction to some of the main features of late antiquity.
- The Ovid CollectionPart of the Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia
- The Poetry of Gaius Valerius CatullusA wikibook of text annotations and commentary of the poetry of Gaius Valerius Catullus.
- Princeton/Stanford Working Papers in ClassicsCurrent research undertaken by members of Princeton and Stanford Universities in the field of classics available in advance of final publication.
- TextkitTextkit was built to help learners of Ancient Greek and Latin. Provides resources and learning guides.
Epigraphy and Paleography
- The Absolute Beginners' Guide to Greek and Roman EpigraphyOnno van Nijf's beginner's guide to epigraphy
- Centre for the Study of Ancient DocumentsOxford University's epigraphical archive, with links to other epigraphy sites
- Epigraphic Database HeidelbergContains the texts of Latin and bilingual (i.e. Latin-Greek) inscriptions of the Roman Empire. Search results are often displayed together with photos and drawings.
Archaeology, Digital Maps, and Virtualizations
- Aquae Urbis RomanisAn interactive cartographic history of the relationships between hydrological and hydraulic systems and their impact on the urban development of Rome, Italy.
- Digital Roman ForumA digital model of the Roman Forum created by the University of California at Los Angeles.
- Fasti OnlineA database of archaeological excavations since 2000.
- Metis360 degree panoramic views of Greek archaeological sites.
- PleiadesThe authoritative gazetteer and graph of ancient places.
