Films/Videos
To check on whether we have a film or show (either in streaming form or DVD), use the Advanced Search in JumpStart and select Video/Film from the "Source Types" dropdown:
The Dickinson library provides access to streaming video through these services:
- Films on Demand Streaming This link opens in a new windowView streaming films from across the disciplines, including HBO documentaries. Search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists. Closed captioning is available for many films. This access may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: varies, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) Streaming This link opens in a new window
Approximately 85,000 streaming film videos in diverse subject areas, with 3,500 new videos added each year. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations/training videos, as well as award-winning films and archival material.
Films available in Academic Video Online have limited public performance rights (except for FILM PLATFORM videos), which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.
Sony Pictures Classics films are unavailable for users located outside of the U.S. due to distribution restrictions. Coverage: contains primary sources, varies. Full text. - Docuseek This link opens in a new window
View streaming films of documentaries from renowned distributors, covering various topics including agriculture and food, business and economics, education, gender studies, psychology and mental health, recreation and sports, science and technology, and more. Screening is permitted by groups on campus when no admission is charged and there is no advertising outside the learning community. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Swank Streaming This link opens in a new window
View streaming films licensed by the college per semester for educational use. Streaming films on Swank licensed by the library are for course use only with semester-long licenses. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowView streaming films of documentaries and feature films on diverse topics. Films labeled "PPR" may be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. No guest access: Dickinson login required. If you are looking for a specific film, please first check Academic Video Online and Films on Demand. Those databases provide unlimited subscription access; use of the same film in Kanopy may result in additional charges for the library. For help using the Kanopy app, see Kanopy's instructions. Full text.
Please note that the library cannot provide access to commercial streaming sites like Netflix, Max, etc.
JustWatch.com is an example of a site that provides information about where a particular film or show is commercially streaming.