Film and Media Studies Databases
- Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window Access scholarly and popular information covering the spectrum of television and film studies. This collection includes articles on film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Coverage: 20th century to present. Full text.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Search for scholarly, international journals, books, and more, covering language, literature, composition, folklore, and film. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Some full text.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Explore material produced by the National Communication Association along with other journals in communication, mass media, and closely-related fields of study including language and linguistics. Coverage: 1915 to present. Some full text.
- Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television This link opens in a new window Access biographical information on individuals active in the theatre, film, and television industries, including behind-the-scenes specialists such as designers, managers, choreographers, executives and critics, as well as performers, directors, writers and producers from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and the world. Coverage: 1984-2012, but varies by collection. Full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window Access a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. This collection includes full text plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles/essays of literary criticism; author biographies; literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems; classic and contemporary short stories; and author interviews. Coverage: varies. Full text.
Religion, Secularity, Politics: Databases
- ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database This link opens in a new window Search articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion, covering all religious traditions, with the strongest coverage in the Judeo-Christian tradition. Coverage: 1818 to present. Citations only.
- JSTOR Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window Access journals that cover historical and regional aspects of Jewish studies. This collection includes titles written in English, German, French, Dutch, Italian, and Hebrew. Coverage: varies by title - 1844 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Access a weekly analysis on one of many broad-ranging topics from the news. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist. Coverage: 1991 to present. Full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Explore the history and culture of North America including the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This collection includes secondary source articles, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for world history, use Historical Abstracts. Coverage: 1935 to present. Full text.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window Access research covering comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, and political theory. Coverage: 1960s to present. Full text.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.
- SocIndex This link opens in a new window Access sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, including anthropology, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Search books and journals of philosophy and related fields for articles, covering the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Coverage: 1940 to present. Some full text.
