Databases for Scholarly Research
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch this online version of "Anthropological Literature" from Harvard University plus "Anthropological Index" from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute to find citations for essential anthropological literature. In addition to journal articles, this collection includes citations for reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage: late 19th century to present. Citations only.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowAccess the journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist and Cultural Anthropology. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- PubMed (with Dickinson links) This link opens in a new windowSearch for biomedical articles from several National Library of Medicine resources, including MEDLINE, life science journals and ebooks. This special version of PubMed includes Dickinson library's "Get It" links to additional full text. Coverage: late 1700s to present. Some full text.
- General Science EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSearch everything from supernovas to marine pollution. This collection is a good starting point for researchers seeking information on a variety of scientific topics. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and dissertations covering social science topics, including anthropology, addiction studies, criminology, urban studies, economics, family studies, social work, international relations, and more. Coverage: 1850 to present. Mostly full text.
- JSTOR Public Health This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and research reports that explore the environmental, biological, social and cultural factors that can impact public health and health equity in society. Coverage: varies. Full text.
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities that meet the scholarly communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries. This collection provides a way to assure visibility and accessibility to their scholarly literature. English, Spanish, and Portuguese search interfaces are available. Full text will be in the language of the original publication. Coverage: current and back issues of journals. Mostly full text. - JumpStart This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
Statistical Information Sources
- UNdataSearch across a variety of UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Includes country profiles with summary, economic, social, and environmental data.
- Health at a Glance 2021 (OECD Indicators)Provides a cset of indicators on population health and health system performance across OECD members and key emerging economies. See also past issues published every two years.
- OECD Country Statistical ProfilesStatistical profiles by country include a range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, labour, migration, and more.
- World Health Statistics 2023: Monitoring Health for the Sustainable Development GoalsAn annual compilation of health and healt-related indicators. Published by the World Health Organization (WHO).
- World Bank Open DataBrowse for data by country or indicator. Health indicators include birth rate, life expectancy, mortality rate, hospital beds per 1,000 people, prevalence of HIV, contraception, undernourishment, and more.
