Find Books
- Dickinson College Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Search Waidner-Spahr library's physical collection (books, DVDs, etc.) and comparable online content (ebooks, streaming films, etc.).
Recommended Databases for Scholarly Secondary Sources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals, popular periodicals, reports, books, and other information resources on a wide variety of subjects. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window Explore a multidisciplinary collection with extensive coverage of Africa and African studies, as well as information on a wide variety of topics from Africa-based publications and organizations. This collection contains citations for scholarly sources, including dissertations, research reports, and monographs. Coverage: contains primary sources. Some full text.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Explore the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. This collection includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and reports from government agencies and non-governmental organizations. Coverage: 1970 to present. Mostly full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Music Index This link opens in a new window Search for scholarly journals, popular magazines, book reviews, obituaries and news relating to music, musicians, and the music industry. This index covers all styles and genres of the world’s music. See also The Music Index print volumes (Reference ML118 .M84 1949-1969) for older sources not in the online version. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Some full text.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window Search for writings about music and other performing arts, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reviews of books and performances. This index includes abstracts and some full text. Coverage: 1967 to present. Citations only.
Highlighted Books
Streaming Music Databases (Require login)
- DRAM Music Online This link opens in a new window Stream American music recordings (CD-quality audio) from the New World Records and CRI labels, as well as other unique and important recordings neglected by the commercial marketplace. Genres available for streaming include folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th to 21st century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond. Includes liner notes. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full audio streaming files and full text.
- Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window Stream music tracks from a multidisciplinary, international collection of audiovisual content. Streaming collections include American Music, Classical Music, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music, Popular Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Liner notes available for approximately one-third of content. Coverage: varies. Full audio streaming files and full text.
Streaming Music Archives (no login required)
Organizations
Interviews
Fan Sites
Magazines and Newspapers
- EBSCO Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Access the magazine archives of Architectural Digest, The Atlantic, Bloomberg BusinessWeek, Ebony, Esquire, Forbes, Fortune, Jet, Life, Maclean's, People, Sports Illustrated, Time, U.S. News & World Report and Vanity Fair. Coverage: 1857-2015 (varies by title), contains primary sources. Full text. The Ebony archive and Jet archive are, in part, gifts of the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.
- Google Magazines This link opens in a new window Access freely available issues of miscellaneous popular magazines. Coverage: varies by title, contains primary sources. Full text.
This link opens in a new window
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Access historical articles and images from the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger; American Israelite; Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; Baltimore Afro-American; Boston Globe; Chicago Defender; Chicago Tribune; Chinese Newspapers Collection; Guardian & Observer; Jewish Advocate; Jewish Exponent; Los Angeles Times; New York Amsterdam News; New York Times; Philadelphia Inquirer; Philadelphia Tribune; Pittsburgh Courier; Pittsburgh Post-Gazette; Wall Street Journal; and Washington Post. Coverage: varies by paper ranging from 1791-2018, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Access national and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS. Includes articles from the Carlisle, PA Sentinel. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Full text.
- Readers' Guide Full Text This link opens in a new window Search for articles in the popular press (magazines, news magazines, general interest periodicals), on topics including art, business, computers, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, health & medicine, history, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, and travel. Coverage: 1890-1982. Some full text.
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window Access music journalism, including articles, interviews and reviews, from across popular music. Search by artist, writer, genre, or publication. Coverage: varies -1960s to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
