Research Guides: Africana Studies: Apartheid in South Africa

Recommended Secondary Source Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals, popular periodicals, reports, books, and other information resources on a wide variety of subjects. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window Explore a multidisciplinary collection with extensive coverage of Africa and African studies, as well as information on a wide variety of topics from Africa-based publications and organizations. This collection contains citations for scholarly sources, including dissertations, research reports, and monographs. Coverage: contains primary sources. Some full text.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Explore the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, history of science, and more. This collection includes secondary source articles from journals, as well as books and book reviews. Note: for United States history, use America: History and Life; for medieval history, use Iter; for ancient history, use JSTOR. Coverage: varies. Full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Access scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.

Library Catalog

Enter your search:

Some Suggested Search Terms

Below are some terms used by librarians to classify research materials related to apartheid. You can combine these terms in a variety of ways, depending on your research question. You can add the phrase "South Africa" to these keyword terms to specify the region you are studying.

Amnesty

Anti-apartheid movements

Atrocities -- South Africa

Human rights

Political crimes and offenses -- South Africa

Post-apartheid era -- South Africa

Protest movements

Race discrimination

Racism -- South Africa

Reparation (Criminal justice)

Restorative justice

Retribution

Social change

Social movements

South Africa -- Social conditions

South Africa Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Truth commissions -- South Africa

Victims of crimes

Primary Source Tools (Some will require a Gateway login)

Apartheid South Africa This link opens in a new window Access letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists' biographies and first-hand accounts of South Africa's apartheid regime from British government files. Coverage: 1948-1980, contains primary sources. Full text.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlements, and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window Explore the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas. Coverage: mostly the 18th and 19th centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.

South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, Building Democracy Hosted by Michigan State University.
South Africa Resources: African Studies Center, U. of PA
South African History Online
South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission
The Steve Biko Foundation

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window Access Southern African material, including periodicals, local newspaper reports, national publications, United Nations documents, photographs, speeches, interviews and more, that mostly covers the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Coverage: 1950 to 1994, contains primary sources. Some full text. This purchase was funded in part by the Mary Moser Memorial Library Fund.

Wits Historical Papers, Johannesburg

Historical Newspapers

19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window Access national and regional English newspapers, as well as newspapers from Scotland, Ireland and Wales, especially those that helped lead political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism and Home Rule. Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes have also been included. These newspapers are cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1800-1900, contains primary sources. Full text.
Guardian & Observer -- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Access historical issues of London's The Guardian and The Observer newspapers. Coverage: 1791-2003, contains primary sources. Full text.
Sunday Times Historical Archive (London) This link opens in a new window Access historical issues of The Sunday Times, which provides analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. It is known for its considerable arts coverage, especially the London theatre and music scenes. This newspaper is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1822-2016, contains primary sources. Full text.
Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Access historical issues of the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication, providing in-depth, objective coverage of world events. This archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest: in business, humanities, political science, philosophy and numerous other subjects with coverage of all major international historical events. It is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1785-2019, contains primary sources. Full text.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Africana Studies: Apartheid in South Africa

Recommended Secondary Source Databases

Library Catalog

Some Suggested Search Terms

Primary Source Tools (Some will require a Gateway login)

Historical Newspapers