Country Profiles
- CIA World Factbook
This link opens in a new window
- BBC Country Profiles
- This link opens in a new window
News & More
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowAccess national and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS. Coverage: late 20th century to present. Full text.
- Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new windowAccess news, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage: 1950 to present. Mostly full text.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess a weekly analysis on one of many broad-ranging topics from the news. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist. Coverage: 1991 to present. Full text.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowAccess newspapers from around the world, plus a wealth of legal, business, medical, and reference information. This collection includes news; cases; statutes & legislation; law reviews & journals; administrative codes & regulations; company and financial data (SEC Filings, company profiles, etc.); and government, legal, and business directories. Coverage: varies but mostly mid-19th century to current, contains primary sources. Mostly full text.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAccess citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
- New York Times -- Current Online Access This link opens in a new windowRegister for a Group Pass to access current issues of New York Times online. See https://libguides.dickinson.edu/specialaccess/nytimes for instructions. Coverage: 1996-present, some historical content. Full text.
- Wall Street Journal -- Current Online Access This link opens in a new windowAll Dickinson users must register via this Dickinson-specific link the first time they use this WSJ.com subscription access. Users may be asked to refresh their access annually. See our special access instructions.
Access current Wall Street Journal online articles. Coverage: current - at least 4 years ago to present. Full text. - New York Times -- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAccess articles and images from historical issues of the New York Times. Coverage: 1851-2018, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Wall Street Journal -- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAccess fully searchable, full text copies of historical articles and images from the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1889-2010, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess historical Economist news magazine issues, including supplements, special reports, surveys, full-color images, exportable financial tables, and a gallery of front covers. This magazine is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1843-2020, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess the complete run of the London edition of the Financial Times daily business newspaper from its first issue to the end of 2016, to study history, business, management, finance and politics. Every individual article, advertisement and market listing is included; they are shown individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day. This newspaper is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1888 to 2016, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive (NCCO) This link opens in a new windowAccess primary source material from rare collections around the globe. This archive includes 12 collections:
- (1) Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange includes government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, & more.
- (2) British Politics & Society includes sources related to the political climate in Great Britain.
- (3) British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture includes primary sources such as playbills, scripts to operas & complete scores.
- (4) Children's Literature & Childhood includes books & periodicals for children.
- (5) Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest includes monographs, periodicals, & other materials documenting European policies & their effects in Africa.
- (6) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection includes English, French & German titles including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry & more, with a focus on difficult-to-find works by historically neglected writers.
- (7) Mapping the World: Maps & Travel Literature includes battle and boundary maps, fictional travel narratives, guidebooks, pamphlets, trail and road maps, and more.
- (8) Photography: The World through the Lens, includes photos & publications about photography.
- (9) Religion, Reform, and Society includes periodicals, monographs, family papers, society records, and other religious publications.
- (10-11) Science, Technology & Medicine: 1780-1925, parts 1-2 include journals, books & other documents.
- (12) Women: Transnational Networks includes journals, books, manuscripts, & other materials, mostly from the U.S. & U.K., but with some other countries as well.
- Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess historical issues of the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication, providing in-depth, objective coverage of world events. This archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest: in business, humanities, political science, philosophy and numerous other subjects with coverage of all major international historical events. It is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1785-2019, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowSearch across primary source collections including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, Indigenous Peoples: North America, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Associated Press Collections, as well as a variety of periodical archives including: Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers; Nineteenth Century United States Newspapers; Financial Times; The Economist; Liberty Magazine, 1924-1950; The Listener, 1929-1991; The Sunday Times (London); The Telegraph; The Times (London); and The Times (London) Literary Supplement. Coverage: 19th-21st centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Sunday Times Historical Archive (London) This link opens in a new windowAccess historical issues of The Sunday Times, which provides analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. It is known for its considerable arts coverage, especially the London theatre and music scenes. This newspaper is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1822-2016, contains primary sources. Full text.
Criteria for Evaluating Websites
Accuracy
- Make sure author provides e-mail or a contact address/phone number.
- Know the distinction between author and Webmaster.
Authority
- What credentials are listed for the authors)?
- Where is the document published? Check URL domain.
Objectivity
- Determine if page is a mask for advertising; if so information might be biased.
- View any Web page as you would an infommercial on television. Ask yourself: why was this written and for whom?
Currency
- How many dead links are on the page?
- Are the links current or updated regularly?
- Is the information on the page outdated?
Coverage
- If page requires special software to view the information, how much are you missing if you don't have the software?
- Is it free or is there a fee to obtain the information?
- Is there an option for text only, or frames, or a suggested browser for better viewing?
Source: Cornell University Library
International Documents
- ODS: Official Documents System of the United NationsThe official place to look for United Nations documents, it covers documents published by the United Nations from 1992 onwards, as well as the full-text of UN Resolutions.
- United Nations Digital LibraryContains materials from the United Nations.
- United Nations Treaty CollectionProvides access to multilateral treaties deposited with the United Nations, as well as bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with the United Nations.
- World Treaty IndexThe WTI seeks to create a comprehensive database of all known bilateral and multilateral treaties formed throughout the 20th century.
- Multilaterals ProjectMultilateral conventions and treaties organized by subject.
Intergovernmental Organizations
An IGO is an organization composed primarily of sovereign states, or of other intergovernmental organizations. IGOs are established by treaty or other agreement that acts as a charter creating the group.
Non-Governmental Organizations
A non-governmental organization (NGO) is any nonprofit, voluntary citizens' group which is organized on a local, national, or international level. Task-oriented and driven by people with a common interest, NGOs perform a variety of service and humanitarian functions, bring citizen concerns to governments, advocate and monitor policies, and encourage political participation through provision of information.
Think Tanks
A think tank is a research institute or organization employed to solve complex problems or predict or plan future developments, as in military, political, or social areas.
Other Resources
- U.S. Congressional Research Service ReportsCRS reports provide research and analysis on a variety of policy issues of interest to the U.S. Congress.
- World Bank Open DataFree and open access to global development data. Search or browse by country or indicator.