Newspapers & Newspaper Articles: International Historical Newspapers

Full runs (where possible) of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. Cross-searchable with other collections via NewsVault. Coverage: 1800-1900. Full-Text.

Access citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.

The complete run of the London edition of the authoritative daily business newspaper, from its first issue to the end of 2006. Cross-searchable with other collections via NewsVault. Coverage: 1888 - 2006, updated annually. Full-Text.

Offers free access to digitized books (including pamphlets), images, and sound resources in the original French. Digitized by the Bibliothèque nationale de France and includes prestigious publications, dictionaries, and periodicals. Full-Text.

Search across primary source collections including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, Indigenous Peoples: North America, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Associated Press Collections, as well as a variety of periodical archives including: Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers; Nineteenth Century United States Newspapers; Financial Times; The Economist; Liberty Magazine, 1924-1950; The Listener, 1929-1991; The Sunday Times (London); The Telegraph; The Times (London); and The Times (London) Literary Supplement. Coverage: 19th-21st centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access historical issues of London's The Guardian and The Observer newspapers. Coverage: 1791-2003, contains primary sources. Full text.

A collection of 22 English-language newspapers published in China between 1832 and 1953. Purchase made possible through a bequest of Eleanor Cogan (Honorary Doctor of Liberal Arts, 2003), library volunteer and longtime friend of the college.

Access important and rare periodicals from Confederate, Union, abolitionist, and British presses. Note: If you encounter a "Consent" page referencing a "Harpweek" account upon first access, refresh and continue on to the site; a Harpweek account is not necessary to access this resource. Coverage: 1860-1865, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access issues of The Japan Times, a daily newspaper reported in English on various aspects of Japanese society. Coverage: 1897-2020, contains primary sources. Full text.

Access newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Latin American countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela. Coverage: 1805-1922, contains primary sources. Full text.

Primary source material from rare collections around the globe.

Full run of The Sunday Times and The Times, which merged in 1966 but remain editorially distinct. Coverage: 1822-2006. Full-Text.

Access historical pages of the popular London Telegraph newspaper’s archive, including its Sunday edition. This newspaper is cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1855-2016, contains primary sources. Full text.

The oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication, providing in-depth coverage of world events. The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy. Coverage: 1785 - 2006. Full-Text.

Over 11 million articles from every issue of Japan's major newspaper, The Yomiuri Shimbun. Search in Japanese or English. English versions of modern articles are available. Coverage: 1874 to present. Full-Text.