American Historical Newspaper Databases
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAccess full-text content, including images, of historical primary source nineteenth century newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the United States. These newspapers are cross-searchable with other collections via Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: 1800s, contains primary sources. Full text.
- African American Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA cross-searchable collection of historical content from leading African-American Newspapers. Coverage Range: 1910-2003, but varies by title. Full-Text. Purchase made possible in part through a bequest of Eleanor Cogan (Honorary Doctor of Liberal Arts, 2003), library volunteer and longtime friend of the college.
- African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess newspapers and magazines, as well as reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and social service agencies. This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA). Coverage: 1829-1922, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was a gift of Robert J. Weinstein, Dickinson College class of 1941.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAccess citations and some full text articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. This index is international in scope with its central focus on socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Coverage: 1969 to present. Some full text.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5 (EBSCO platform) This link opens in a new windowLarge collection covering all aspects of American society from the colonial period through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Gift of Robert J. Weinstein, Dickinson College class of 1941. Coverage Range: 1691-1877. Full-Text.
- American Jewish Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA cross-searchable collection of historical content from American Jewish Newspapers. Coverage: 1854-2000, but varies by title. Full-Text.
- American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 This link opens in a new windowAccess over 1,500 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines; 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from colonial times to independence; and 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras; and many other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage: 1740-1900, contains primary sources. Full text.
- American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access a growing digital archive of newspapers published in prisons by incarcerated individuals. When complete, this collection will bring together periodicals from across the country, representing penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Coverage: 1800-2020, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Chronicling America (Library of Congress)
- This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Civil War Era This link opens in a new windowAccess regional United States newspapers from the 1850s, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. This collection contains primary source documents that encompass the formation and evolution of the American Civil War and the abolitionist movement. Coverage: contains primary sources. Full text.
- Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia & Alabama (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Access issues of wartime newspapers from FL, GA, TN, VA and AL, from 1860 to 1865. This collection is cross-searchable with other collections via Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1860-1865, contains primary sources. Full text. This purchase was a gift of the Walter E. Beach Library Fund.
- Dickinsonian This link opens in a new windowAccess the Dickinson College student newspaper back to its founding in 1872. Coverage: 1872 to present, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window
Explore fully searchable historical newspapers from all 50 states. Searches can be limited by date range, article type, language, place of publication, and newspaper title. Coverage: 1690-1922, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowSearch across primary source collections including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Making of the Modern World, Indigenous Peoples: North America, Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Associated Press Collections, as well as a variety of periodical archives including: Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers; Nineteenth Century United States Newspapers; Financial Times; The Economist; Liberty Magazine, 1924-1950; The Listener, 1929-1991; The Sunday Times (London); The Telegraph; The Times (London); and The Times (London) Literary Supplement. Coverage: 19th-21st centuries, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFully searchable, full-text copies of articles and images from a number of prominent American newspapers, including collections focused on Jewish and African American history. Coverage: 1849-2005, but varies by title. Full-Text.
- History Commons This link opens in a new window
“Complete Collection of Historical American Newspapers, Books, and Journals Module" - Access historical American newspapers, journals and books, including collections covering African-American newspapers, the Civil War, Native Americans in history, Women's Suffrage, World War I, Pennsylvania, and Quarantine and Disease Control in America. Coverage: mid 17th century through early 20th century - varies by collection, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new windowAccess important and rare periodicals from Confederate, Union, abolitionist, and British presses. Note: If you encounter a "Consent" page referencing a "Harpweek" account upon first access, refresh and continue on to the site; a Harpweek account is not necessary to access this resource. Coverage: 1860-1865, contains primary sources. Full text.
- New York Times -- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access articles and images from historical issues of the New York Times. Coverage: 1851-2020, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive (NCCO) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source material from rare collections around the globe. Includes 12 collections of international and interdisciplinary interest. Also includes photographic collections and historical academic journals.
- Wall Street Journal -- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAccess fully searchable, full text copies of historical articles and images from the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1889-2010, contains primary sources. Full text.
Ask a Librarian
Librarians: ask@dickinson.libanswers.com
Text us: 717-366-6623
Librarians by Department
Circulation desk: 717-245-1397