Journals List
Enter your search:
This box searches journal and newspaper titles only. Use JumpStart to search for specific articles.
Locating Articles
Basic process for finding articles
If you find an article that looks interesting check to see if there is a link to the pdf or HTML version of the article by the citation. If not, then click the "Get It!" button to see if we have access to it either electronically or in print.
Requesting articles we do not own
If we have neither print nor electronic access to an article in our collection, then you can place an order for it through ILLIAD.
You will have to set up account the first time you order an article but once you have done this once you can use this same account each time you want an article.
Once you have an account set up then you can just click the "ILLIAD" link in the "Get it!" button and log into your account and the request form will be automatically populated with the citation information for your desired article so you only need to submit the request.
(If you do not have a journal citation, but instead have a topic, use one of our databases to locate citations).
Earth Sciences and General Science Databases
Click here to view our tutorial on choosing a database.
- General Science EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Search everything from supernovas to marine pollution. This collection is a good starting point for researchers seeking information on a variety of scientific topics. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowSearch for research in geology and earth sciences from around the world. Coverage: 1666 to present for North America, 1933 to present for global geology. Some full text.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and interoperable with GeoRef. Coverage: mostly 2000 to present. Some full text.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access articles in journals published by Elsevier focusing on science, technology and medicine. Coverage: varies - some 1850 to present. Some full text.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.
Useful Databases for Public Policy & Disaster Management
- GPO (Government Printing Office) Monthly Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch United States government documents published since 1976, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, records, judiciary materials, statistics, and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). This index addresses many topics, including political science, foreign policy, law, census, environment, agriculture, and education. Some citations contain links to full text. Print documents are available in the State Library in Harrisburg and via interlibrary loan (ILLiad). Coverage: 1976 to present. Citations only.
Full-Text Electronic Journal Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access articles in journals published by Elsevier focusing on science, technology and medicine. Coverage: varies - some 1850 to present. Some full text.
