Geosciences: Natural Disasters: Internet Resources

An excellent place to start exploring natural disasters. Includes sections on earthquakes, volvanoes, landslides, floods and tsunamis.

This site was created to provide timely access to global environmental data from satellites and other sources.

Amazing images and accompanying descriptions of natural hazards.

Focuses on the social and policies implications of natural hazards but has a good list of resources, including web resources broken down by disaster type.

IRIS is a consortium of over 100 US universities dedicated to the operation of science facilities for the acquisition, management, and distribution of seismological data. Includes the Seismic Monitor which allows you to monitor earthquakes in near real-time.

Includes Google Earth KML files, Atom and RSS feeds and CSV files pertaining to earthquakes.

Includes features allowing you to search for volcanoes by region, name or eruption data. Also has a wonderful image gallery and provides access to volcanic activity reports that provide recent and historic information on volcanic activity.

Provided by the Department of Geosciences at Oregon State University this site includes information on national parks with volcanoes, current volcanic activity and interviews with people in the field.

Current information on volcanic activity in the United States. Includes link to volcano webcams.

Includes images, maps, data and publications relating to tsunamis.

Includes general background on tsunamis as well as information relating to modeling and forecasting tsunamis.

Includes information on specific events and the monitoring of landslides. Also has links to photographs of, and publications on, landslides.

Map of real-time streamflow compared to historical streamflow for the day of the year (United States)

The Flood Observatory facilitates use of space-based information for international flood detection, flood response, future risk assessment, and hydrological research.

Includes maps of rain forecast and flood outlook. Also provides information on flood warnings.

The NIFC is the nation's support center for wildland firefighting. Eight different agencies and organizations are part of NIFC.

Allows users to access online maps of current fire locations and perimeters in the conterminous 48 States and Alaska.

Information compiled by the National Weather Service

Federal Emergency Management Agency is part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

The Center for Disease Control has compiled information on this and breaks it down by specific type of hazard.