Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Please see our Library Services Updates: Summer & Fall 2021 website for the most up-to-date information about library services.

Waidner-Spahr News and Events: Home

Welcome

The library hosts events, exhibits, and art displays throughout the year. These enhance the cultural and academic life of the Dickinson community by illuminating resources and research activity, and promoting scholarship and creative endeavors on campus. Student photography, treasures from the archives, sculptures and artwork: you can find it all here, so don't forget to take a break from your studying to check out the latest.

Missing the Dickinson College Library? Now you can bring a little bit of the library to your Zoom meetings and video conference calls! Enhance your Zoom interactions with library themed backgrounds, now available to download.  All that’s missing is the book smell and sounds of the Biblio Café!

You can check them out here:

 Waidner-Spahr Library Zoom Backgrounds

Monthly Overview - April

 Summer 2021

Building hours are:
Monday - Friday : 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
  • Use the main entrance on High St.; a current DC ID card is required.

  • The lower level of the library and the lower entrance will be closed; items from that area can be requested at the Circulation Desk and will be retrieved by library staff.  

  • To request access to Archives and Special Collections, email archives@dickinson.edu.

  • Library seating has been reduced to one person per worktable; furniture has been arranged to support social distancing.  

  • Library study rooms will be available for use by only one person at a time on a first come, first served basis.

  • Prearranged contact free pick-up of library materials will be available in the inside lobby area starting Feb. 1.  To request pick outside the doors email circ@Dickinson.edu.

  • Everyone in the building will be expected to practice social distancing, adhere to the mask requirement and follow informational signs displayed throughout the building.  

  • A monitor inside the Library entrance indicates the Library building capacity and the current availability of space for users. Click on this link for current occupancy https://app.safespace.io/api/display/live-occupancy/8f8113d1?view=icon

Virtual Exhibits and Book Displays
  • Virtual Book Display - Pride Month Leisure Reads

June 1 - 30

  • New Digital Resources

Ongoing

  • Featured Book of the Week
Ongoing
  • Digital Book Exhibit: 60th Anniversary of MLK Visit

Ongoing

Scopus Replaces Web of Science on July 1

On July 1 Dickinson College will transition to the Scopus abstract and citation database from Web of Knowledge (including Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index).

Why are we moving to Scopus?

By making this change to Scopus, we will achieve substantial annual cost savings, while retaining a comparable database that is used by more than 5,000 academic, government, and corporate institutions, including many of our liberal arts college peers. 

What is Scopus?

Like Web of Knowledge, Scopus is a curated abstract database that links researchers to scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. 

As a citation database, Scopus also provides tools for users to discover and analyze the connections between research.  Researchers can find related documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identify subject experts; track citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assess trends in search results. 

Questions? Contact your liaison librarian or email us at ask@dickinson.libanswers.com.

Like and follow us!

Book Display Title - June 2021

Pride Month Leisure Reads

Virtual Book Display


Happy Summer! Celebrate Pride and take it easy with 5 novels featuring LGBTQ+ characters.
Click on a book cover to access it through Jumpstart. Interested in more information? Consult with a librarian by emailing ask@dickinson.libanswers.com

Gallery Book Display - June 2021

The Song of Achilles - Cover Art - link to Jumpstart item record
Not Your Sidekick - Cover Art - link to Jumpstart item record
All My Mother's Lovers : A Novel - Cover Art - link to Jumpstart item record
Pizza Girl: A Novel - Cover Art - link to Jumpstart item record
She of the Mountains - Cover Art - link to Jumpstart item record

Featured Book of the Week

Ft Book of the Week: Crying in H Mart