Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Waidner-Spahr Library

Earth History: Articles

Locating Articles

Basic process for finding articles

If you find an article that looks interesting check to see if there is a link to the pdf or HTML version of the article by the citation. If not, then click the "Get It!" button to see if we have access to it either electronically or in print.

Get It!

 
If you cannot see either a direct link to the article or the "Get It!" button then search the Journals List for the title of the journal in which it was published. If you find the journal title here check to see if we have access to the year in which the journal article was published, and then follow the relevant link. Click here to access our tutorial on how to use the "Get It!" button.

 

Requesting articles we do not own

If we have neither print nor electronic access to an article in our collection, then you can place an order for it through ILLIAD.

You will have to set up account the first time you order an article but once you have done this once you can use this same account each time you want an article.

Once you have an account set up then you can just click the "ILLIAD" link in the "Get it!" button and log into your account and the request form will be automatically populated with the citation information for your desired article so you only need to submit the request.

(If you do not have a journal citation, but instead have a topic, use one of our databases to locate citations).

Articles

Finding articles on geology topics that are understandable for someone without a background in this area can be quite difficult. Most databases focus on the primary research literature, which is very focused and often highly technical.

However, bearing that in mind, you may still find some material in these databases that will be helpfult:

  • GeoRef: The most comprehensive of the earth sciences databases.

Tip: After you perform your initial search, you may want to refine your results (available on the left hand side) to "Exclude Abstracts Only". This will remove results that are abstracts from conferences and have no associated full text.

Here are some journals in our collection that you might find useful:

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kendall Thompson
Contact:
717-245-1838