Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WWW Virtual Library for Computing and Computer Science
A collection of links for computer science resources.
National Science Foundation Directorate for Computer & Information Science & Engineering (CISE)
An independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense...".
Computer Desktop Encyclopedia
25,000+ IT and consumer electronics definitions.
Free Online Dictionary of Computing
A computing dictionary including definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions and companies, projects, and history.
Websites Containing Scholarly Publications
ArXiv (pronounced "archive.org") is a repository for research papers in physics, computer science, mathematics and neuroscience. While many of the papers on the server are high quality, be warned that they are not peer-reviewed.
Limits Google searches to scholarly papers.
A search engine for computer science papers utilizing methods from natural language processing, data mining, and computer vision. Produced by the Allen Institute for Artificial Intelligence.
Websites Containing More Informal, Less Scholarly, Discussions
Contains summaries of, and links to, interesting technology related materials on the web. Comments related to the postings are ranked through a star system so that the user can filter out comments that have low rating and only read the more relevant and insightful comments.
A collaborative site featuring questions and answers from the programming community.
Computer and technology information with an IT focus.
Contains articles on emerging trends and innovations in technologies and culture. Wired news is a popular, rather than scholarly, publication that provides very readable articles of relatively high quality.