Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Good patent searching guides on the web
Use these databases for finding patents in chemistry.
Google Patent Search
Contains full text of US patents from 1790, EPO and WIPO from 1978
The definitive source for US patents--provides many ways for finding patents and patent applications
NOTE: Available to current Dickinson affiliates only. FIRST TIME USERS must register to search this database. Contact the Chemistry Liaison Librarian
for information on how to register. SciFinder publishes the latest scientific breakthroughs. It is the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information with references from more than 10,000 currently published journals and patents from more than 61 patent authorities. Includes important scientific discoveries from the mid-1800s to the present. Allows searching on more than 56 million organic and inorganic substances by chemical structures, biological sequences, substructures or reactions. Coverage: Mid-1800s to present. Citations Only.
Derwent Innovations Index
Patent information from Derwent World Patent Index and patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Includes Chemical, Electronic and Electrical, and Engineering sections. Coverage Range: 1963-present; Citations Only
Provides access to over 80 million international patents
Patent searching tips
Approximately 80% of patents contain information published nowhere else, but patents can be very difficult to find. In fact, some patents are deliberately designed to be hard to retrieve in a patent search.
In addition, names used in patents may change over time, and the owner of the patent, or assignee, may change as well.
Try following these tips when beginning a patent search:
- Find as much information as you can about the drug: alternate names, patent holder, and approximate dates
- Try a keyword search for the most common names, combined with the patent holder as assignee
- Make use of the patent citations
, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
, Computer Science
, Earth Sciences
, Environmental Science/Studies
, Library Tutorials
, Physics & Astronomy