Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citing in Chemistry
The ACS citation style from the American Chemical Society is the primary citation style used in Chemistry at Dickinson.
ACS Style Guide (American Chemical Society) This link opens in a new window
Access the full citation style manual from the American Chemical Society (ACS). This digital-first publication is updated regularly. Full text.
If you are looking for a specific article and you know the journal that it was published in, you can determine whether Dickinson subscribes to this journal by checking the Journals List. If you are not looking for a specific article, you can search for articles in the databases that we subscribe to. Click here to access our tutorial on how to choose a database.
Below, we have compiled a list of databases that are particularly relevant for Chemistry. Please click on the icon for more information about each database.
ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) This link opens in a new window
Access journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Coverage: 1896 to present, but varies by journal. Full text.
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window First time users
must register to search SciFinder, which is available to current Dickinson affiliates only. Contact the Chemistry Liaison Librarian
for registration information.
Search for important scientific discoveries as well as organic and inorganic substance information with references from journals and patents. This resource also provides step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. Citations only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access articles in journals published by Elsevier focusing on science, technology and medicine. Coverage: varies - some 1850 to present. Some full text.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Explore research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines, including engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, and waste management. This collection includes leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1900s to present. Full text, Jumpstart searchable.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Explore review articles that summarize the progress in fields including the biomedical sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, public health, and social sciences. Search across all subjects or limit by subject area. Coverage: 1932 to present, but varies by series. Some full text.
General Science EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Search everything from supernovas to marine pollution. This collection is a good starting point for researchers seeking information on a variety of scientific topics. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.
A service publishing peer-reviewed open access research in chemistry, from BioMed Central - the leading biomedical open access publisher.
Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO) This link opens in a new window
Access journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities that meet the scholarly communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries. This collection provides a way to assure visibility and accessibility to their scholarly literature. English, Spanish, and Portuguese search interfaces are available. Full text will be in the language of the original publication. Coverage: current and back issues of journals. Mostly full text.
, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
, Earth Sciences
, Environmental Science/Studies
, Help and How-To
, Library Tutorials
, Physics & Astronomy