Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JumpStart combines the library's catalog and about half of our online databases into a single search. With one interface you can search our library catalog and many (but not all) of our databases simultaneously, or in any number of combinations that you select. Coverage: Varied. Some Full-Text.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust contains books and other materials from across the disciplines and in diverse languages, with most content dating from the late 18th to the early 20th Centuries. Dickinson’s HathiTrust membership provides full-text access (with downloading) to more than 5.6 million HathiTrust volumes, and bibliographic information on millions more. Coverage: contains primary sources. See our special access instructions
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Contains over 67,000 scholarly videos in diverse subject areas for streaming. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations/training videos, and more. Contains thousands of award-winning films as well as archival material. May be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Sony Pictures Classics films are unavailable for users located outside of the U.S. due to distribution restrictions. Coverage: Contains primary sources. Full text.
Films on Demand
Contains over 35,000 streaming films from across the disciplines, and includes HBO documentaries. You can use Films On Demand to search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists. Closed captioning is available for many films. May be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. Coverage: 1950s - present, contains primary sources. Full-Text.
Swank Streaming - Semester-Long Licenses
A collection of streaming films licensed by the college per semester for educational use. Coverage: Varies. Full text. Extended trial available through June 30, 2022.
More than 1,600 documentary films from distributors including Bullfrog, Icarus, Women Make Movies, and more. Coverage: Varies. Full text. Extended trial available through July 31, 2022.
Provides streaming access to documentary and feature films on diverse topics. May be used for on-campus showings by student groups and co-curricular programs for which no admission is charged. No guest access: Dickinson login required. If you are looking for a specific film, please first check Academic Video Online
and Films on Demand
. Those databases provide unlimited subscription access; use of the same film in Kanopy may result in additional charges for the library. Instructions
for using the Kanopy app.