General
There are thousands of places to locate biological information on the Internet, but be very cautious when using the Internet for your research.
Always evaluate the site for authority, bias and currency. Click here for more information on evaluating resource, or look through some biological discussions here.
- Cell Press Snapshot ArchiveHelpful overviews for common topics in neuroscience and molecular biology from Cell Press.
- BRENDAThe comprehensive enzyme information system.
- National Human Genome InstituteInformation on the history of the Human Genome Project, its progress, cast of characters and future.
- Allen Mouse Brain AtlasAn interactive, genome-wide image database of gene expression.
- Gray's Anatomy of the Human BodyThe Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings many in color from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
- Complete works of Darwin onlineThis resource includes digitized copies of all Darwin's published works, and his unpublished papers.
- WildFinderFrom the World Wildlife Organization. A map-driven, searchable database of more than 26,000 species worldwide, with a search tool that allows users to see where species live or explore different locations to find out what species live there.
- bioRxiv.orgThe preprint server for Biology. Produced by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
Biodiversity
- Animal Diversity WebOnline database and encyclopedia of animal natural history from the University of Michigan.
- Global Biodiversity Information FacilityPromotes and facilitates the mobilization, access, discovery and use of information about the occurrence of organisms over time and across the planet.
Bioethics
- Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC)The National Agricultural Library is one of five national libraries of the United States and houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.
- bioethics.netThe leading journal in the field of bioethics, publishing original contributions that explore domestic and global ethical challenges in health care, medicine, public health, and the life sciences.
- Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical IssuesThe Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues (The Bioethics Commission) is an advisory panel of the nation's leaders in medicine, science, ethics, religion, law, and engineering.
- Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown UniversityHome to more than 100,000 books, journals, archival materials, and digital objects.
Genomics
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)Provides access to biomedical and genomic information.
- GenBankThe NIH genetic sequence database containing all publicly available DNA sequences.
- BLASTA DNA sequence search and similarity tool that can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences.
Taxonomy
- Integrated Taxonomic Information SystemAuthoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
- uBioA collaborative project within the science library community to create a comprehensive catalog of names for all living and extinct organisms.
- Tree of Life web projectProvides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
- LifemapExploring the entire tree of life. Provides graphical representations of taxonomic relationships.
Science News
- New ScientistScience and technology news for a general audience.
- News@nature.comScience news related to biotechnology, careers, Earth & environment, medical research, more.
- Science Magazine: NewsDaily science news.
- EurekAlert!An electronic index of research advances in science, medicine, health and technology as published in news briefs and in the science media, including peer-reviewed scientific journals.
