Biology: Databases

Access titles focusing on biological, ecological and environmental sciences. This collection primarily consists of journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Coverage: varies, 1965 to present. Full text.

Explore review articles that summarize the progress in fields including the biomedical sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, public health, and social sciences. Search across all subjects or limit by subject area. Coverage: 1932 to present, but varies by series. Some full text.

Search for biomedical articles from several National Library of Medicine resources, including MEDLINE, life science journals and ebooks. This special version of PubMed includes Dickinson library's "Get It" links to additional full text. Coverage: late 1700s to present. Some full text.

Access global research on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas covered include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more. Coverage: 1892 to present. Citations only.

Search everything from supernovas to marine pollution. This collection is a good starting point for researchers seeking information on a variety of scientific topics. Coverage: 20th century to present. Some full text.

Access journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities that meet the scholarly communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries. This collection provides a way to assure visibility and accessibility to their scholarly literature. English, Spanish, and Portuguese search interfaces are available. Full text will be in the language of the original publication. Coverage: current and back issues of journals. Mostly full text.

Access articles in journals published by Elsevier focusing on science, technology and medicine. Coverage: varies - some 1850 to present. Some full text.

First time users must register to search SciFinder, which is available to current Dickinson affiliates only. Contact the Chemistry Liaison Librarian for registration information.

Search for important scientific discoveries as well as organic and inorganic substance information with references from journals and patents. This resource also provides step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. Citations only.

Search for abstracts of scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. This tool also enables researchers to discover and analyze the connections between research, locating documents by shared references, authors, and keywords; identifying subject experts; tracking citations over time for a set of authors or documents; and assessing trends in search results. Coverage: 1788 to present. Citations only.