Research Guides: Theatre & Dance: Articles

Using Databases

Library databases are your gateway to materials outside the scope of our library catalog, especially journal articles.

Sometimes the full text of an article is available directly through online databases.
Other times, the database will only provide a citation (enough information to identify and locate the article elsewhere) or a citation and an abstract (a summary of the article).
If the database only provides a citation/abstract, then you must click on the Get It! button (or search our Journal Locator) to see if Dickinson owns the journal or has electronic access to it.
If we don't own or have access to the article at Dickinson, you can request the article through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
Access journal articles and books on all aspects of theater and the performing arts including ballet, comedy, dance, drama, mime, opera, and puppetry. Coverage: 1900s-present. Full text.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Access journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities, including archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, dance, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. For citation searching: click "Cited References" at the top of the search screen. Coverage: late 1800s to present. Some full text.