Research Guides
If you are not sure which library resources to consult for a specific subject or discipline, visit our Research Guides, or contact any librarian at Ask a Librarian.
Finding Books
If you cannot find the book you want at your local library, you are encouraged to contact your Dickinson librarian to determine potential ways that you may obtain it. You can also search the library's online catalog to find what books the library has on your topic.
Finding Articles
Using the local library at your site is a valuable part of your global education experience. So please be sure to check out your local library first. If you cannot find the journal article you need there, please follow the steps below to access our journal collection at Dickinson:
- Go to the list of databases in the library website and search the appropriate databases. If you are not sure which database to use, consult our Research Guides.
Here are some commonly used full-text databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals, popular periodicals, reports, books, and other information resources on a wide variety of subjects. Coverage: varies. Some full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore historical and recent journals, books and images in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, with some natural science coverage. Coverage: varies - historical up to 1-5 years from current date, contains primary sources. Full text.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly journals and ebooks in both the humanities and social sciences. Most journals covered are up to date. Ebooks include titles in Global Cultural Studies, Poetry, Fiction & Creative Non-Fiction. Coverage: historical and current. Full text.
To request an article that is not available in full-text, please go to ILLiad. You will receive an email notification on how to access the article electronically through ILLiad. Remember to indicate on your ILLiad request form in the notes field that you are currently in a global education program.
Further Resources
To access encyclopedia articles, statistics, primary sources, video streaming, and more, visit the library's databases page and click on the All Database Types drop-down.